Chinese 670/691A Research in Chinese Studies
Start with These
- 古今圖書集成 Gu jing tu shu ji cheng《古今圖書集成》是我國現存最大的類書，全書1萬卷，1.6億字。它全面收錄了從上古到明末清初的古代文獻資料。舉凡天文地理、政治經濟、軍事法律、哲學倫理、教育科舉、文化藝術、音樂舞蹈、琴棋詩畫、宗教神話、禽蟲草木、農桑漁牧、醫藥偏方、油鹽茶酒、木陶舟車、無所不包，並有六千多幅精美圖表，具有極高的史料、文獻、學術、科研、實用價值。被中外譽為「
- 故宮【寒泉】古典文獻全文檢索資料庫Database at the National Palace Musuem. Allows for keyword searching of a range of texts.
- Siku QuanshuInstructions here: http://www.library.umass.edu/collections/databases/siku-quanshu-electronic-version/
Software available here: https://www.eastview.com/resources/books-and-e-books/siku-quanshu/
The link takes you to instructions for downloading the software. DO NOT USE FIREFOX - you will get garbled text. For on campus use, click on the IP login. For off-campus use, ask me for the password (sdomier@library.umass.edu) - Scripta Sinica 漢籍電子文獻Limited access through free version, but very useful for keyword searching. 點擊“免費使用”鍵進入
- China/Asia On Demand (CAOD) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Nearly all journals in China, with coverage across all regions of Asia, including articles, theses, dissertations, patents and conference proceedings. - China Academic Journals 中国期刊全文数据库 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index of Chinese scholarly journals. UMass has a subscription to access the full text of articles in Section F, Humanities, beginning in 1994. Other articles may be requested through interlibrary loan. English and traditional Chinese interfaces are also available, please contact the library for links.
- National Social Sciences Database 国家哲学社会科学学术期刊数据库Free database of government-funded Chinese social sciences journals. Coverage varies, but includes in all cases 2012+. You need to register as an individual (free) and then you can read/download these open access articles. There is much overlap with CAJ, but you should use both.
- National Taiwan Normal University Journal ArchivesFull-text access to the scholarly journals published by National Taiwan Normal University 國立臺灣師範大學. Over 100 journals titles included.
- Zhang Letian Fieldwork Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From 1954 to 1982, Chinese society was buffeted by upheaval from the “Great Leap Forward” and the “Cultural Revolution.” China was in tumult and the PRC was all but closed. Zhang Letian, a Fudan University professor and well-known expert in field of development and transformation of rural China, diligently collected rare materials from this era while conducting fieldwork in his ancestral village of Lianmin (Haining, Zhejiang Province).
