Libraries Ask Us

Anthropology

Guide for Library Research in Anthropology

Where can I find anthropology articles?

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The scholarly literature of archeology and anthropology (biological, physical, linguistic, social and cultural) in several languages, late 1800s to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains articles from 32 journals published by the American Anthropological Association between the 1800s and today. A list of these journals appears on the homepage.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Discovery Search This link opens in a new window
Discovery Search will show you articles from many different disciplines including Anthropology.
Free to use for anyone to find records. Some results, and detailed information such as PDFs and full text links, are available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains archaeology books, journal articles, and dissertations describing prehistoric life and archaeological sites across the world published between 1983 and today.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains thousands of ethnographies originally published as articles, books, and dissertations from 1983 to today. Its indexing feature lets you trace social features across cultures.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

How do I search in eHRAF databases?

If the interface and search tools of eHRAF databases are unfamiliar to you, check out these tutorials:

Where can I find biology articles?

BioOne This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bioscience research journals in full text. Covers 179 titles from 136 society and nonprofit publishers, including some open access journals. Coverage varies; earliest is 1994-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes content from journals, conferences, books, and U.S. patents covering the life sciences and biomedical research since 1926.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PrimateLit This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles and other scholarly materials on nonhuman primates, 1940-present. Click here for public access version.
Content is freely available for use by all.
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to periodical articles and other scholarly literature on zoology, biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, and genetics, 1864-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Where can I find cultural articles?

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews, many in full text, relating to United States and Canadian history and prehistory, 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Indigenous Histories in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Includes rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, essays and government documents on native North American history and culture from pre-history to the present, 1800-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines key indices (Schomburg, IIBP, etc) to scholarship and primary sources in Afro-American studies.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Europa World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia and directory of the world's countries. Substantive coverage of government, demographics, history, and much more. Current.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals on Latin America & the Caribbean, the US-Mexico border area, and U.S. Latinos, 1970-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs, 1988 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to articles and other scholarly literature on the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa, 1900-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Oxford Bibliographies: Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Expert discussion of topics and sub-topics in Jewish Studies, with extensive annotated lists of best books and articles.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Oxford Bibliographies: Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Expert discussion of topics and sub-topics in Latin American studies, with extensive annotated lists of best books and articles.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of archival primary sources and current statistics, articles, reports and more on people, places and topics related to Latin America and the Caribbean.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Where can I find linguistics articles?

Linguistics Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for articles in the scholarly journals of linguistics, 1985-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts - LLBA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the scholarly literature of linguistics and related fields from 1994 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920s -
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Treasury of Linguistic Maps Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Visualized information on various topics in linguistics.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Where can I find electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers?

Go to the Libraries homepage and change the dropdown to the left of the search bar to "E-journals."

This will let you check whether the UMass Amherst Libraries offers electronic access to individual journals, magazines, and newspapers.

A screenshot of the Libraries homepage with the dropdown to the left of the main search bar changed to "E-journals"

Screenshot of e-journal search interface

You can search by the title of the publication or enter its ISSN. An ISSN (International Standard Serial Number) is a unique number assigned to journals, magazines, and newspapers to help eliminate confusion even when multiple publications the same title.

When you find the publication you're looking for, click on it. This will open a window showing you all of the access options through the Libraries.

Screenshot of the SFX view for a journal

Below each access option, you'll find the years of that publication available to you.