Anthropology
Guide for Library Research in Anthropology
Your Librarian
Welcome to the Anthropology Research Guide
There are many ways to conduct research in anthropology. This guide will show you how to get started finding books, journal articles, and other types of data.
Questions?
Need help quickly? Head over to the Ask Us page and submit your question as a message or start a chat with a librarian Monday - Friday 9 - 5 pm.
You can also email your Anthropology Librarian for help. I'm here to discuss your research over email or set up a one-on-one consultations over Zoom. If you feel stuck, don't hesitate to contact me.
What are some best bets for starting my research?
The Libraries offer access to some databases which contain resources specific to anthropology.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This database contains articles from 32 journals published by the American Anthropological Association between the 1800s and today. A list of these journals appears on the homepage. - eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains archaeology books, journal articles, and dissertations describing prehistoric life and archaeological sites across the world published between 1983 and today. - eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains thousands of ethnographies originally published as articles, books, and dissertations from 1983 to today. Its indexing feature lets you trace social features across cultures.
How do I search in eHRAF databases?
If the interface and search tools of eHRAF databases are unfamiliar to you, check out these tutorials:
