Library Guide to ANTHRO 297AC -
Anthropology Careers: Beyond Graduation

Professor Boone Shear Fall 2016 & 2018

What to do with your anthropology degree? What will your anthropology education do for you in life?

If full-text isn't provided, click the red UMLinks button  in the citation to check for other options.

• Anthropology Plus

  The scholarly literature of archeology and anthropology (biological, physical, linguistic, social and cultural) in several languages, late 1800s to present.

• AnthroSource
  The full text of the 32 journals published by the American Anthropological Association, some dating back to the nineteenth century. 
   
• Academic Search Premier
  Citations, abstracts and full-text articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to social sciences, humanities, education,physical, and biological sciences. 1975-
   
• Digital Dissertations
  Bibliographic citations and abstracts of doctoral dissertations and some masters theses completed at primarily American and Canadian colleges and universities since 1861. Includes full text of the first 24 pages of most recent (1997- ) dissertations and full text of recent UMass Amherst dissertations. To borrow theses and dissertations from other institutions, place a request through Interlibrary Loan . 

• Google Scholar 
  The same Google interface you know and love--but it searches only scholarly, academic information, rather than the whole Web. Library version connects to UMass library resources. 
• PAIS International
  Citations and abstracts for articles, books and book chapters, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports and other materials relating to public and social policy published in Western European languages. 1970-
   
• Web of Science
  Covers almost all English-language scholarly journals. Provides a means of tracing where an article is cited, as well as topic and author searching. Social sciences journals are covered since 1956.

Use a citation manager, such as Zotero to keep track of your research.

Put all your references in one place, create quick and easy bibliographies, build your knowledgebase for the rest of your career. For help, check out the online guides and webinars or Ask a Librarian. 

Some tips on using Chicago notation style with Zotero. 

Question:
I'm about to graduate from UMass Amherst. How do I maintain access to my RefWorks account?

Answer:
Simply update your user information by changing the User Type to Alumni. Update the email address with your new alumni email address or a personal address.

Question: 
I'm a graduate of UMass but never used RefWorks. How do I set up a RefWorks account for the first time?

Answer:
(a) Register with Maroon Central to obtain a 10-digit alumni ID. You can also contact the Alumni Association at 1-800-456-8627 or alumni@admin.umass.edu  .  

(b) Apply online for an alumni e-mail (forwarding) account; you will be asked for your alumni ID.   

(c) Once you've established an alumni e-mail address, send a message to refworks@library.umass.edu and ask for the Group Code to access your RefWorks account. You will need the Group Code each time you log in. 

(d) To set up your RefWorks account, go to www.refworks.com/rwsingle. Under User Type, select Alumni. 

Anthropology Careers - Web Resources

(From Diablo Valley College Library Anthropology: Careers in Anthropology)