East Asian Studies
General information and lists of course guides for East Asian Languages and Cultures.
Getting Started with Articles & Databases
These are just a few of our many databases with resources on China and Chinese culture.
-
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowCitations to western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters relating to Asia and Asian Studies, 1971-present
-
China/Asia On Demand (CAOD) This link opens in a new windowNearly all journals in China, with coverage across all regions of Asia, including articles, theses, dissertations, patents and conference proceedings.
-
Historical Chinese Newspapers This link opens in a new windowEnglish-language newspapers published in China. Coverage spans 1832-1953, with most content from 1910-1940.
Looking for more? Click on "China: Databases and Other Resources" on the left side menu.
These are just a few of our many databases with resources on Japan and Japanese culture.
-
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowCitations to western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters relating to Asia and Asian Studies, 1971-present
-
Japan Times Archives This link opens in a new windowDigitized issues of The Japan Times, The Japan Advertiser, The Japan Times & Mail, The Japan Times and Advertiser (Morning ed.) , Japan Times and Advertiser (Evening ed.) and the Nippon Times; includes all issues since March 22, 1897.
-
Zassaku Plus ざっさくプラス This link opens in a new windowIndex to Japanese periodical articles 1868 to present. Please note that these are citations only and you will need to request the articles through interlibrary loan if the library does not have the journals in its collection.
Looking for more? Click on "Japan: Databases and Other Resources" on the left side menu.
These are just a few of our many databases with resources on Korea and Korean culture.
-
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowCitations to western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters relating to Asia and Asian Studies, 1971-present
-
Naver News Library This link opens in a new windowFour major Korean newspapers: Dong-A ilbo, 1920-1999; Kyunghyang Shinmun, 1946-1999; Maeil Business Newspaper, 1966-1999; and The Hankyoreh, 1988-1999. Displays in original text, Korean version text, and original images.
East Asian Print Collection
The East Asian Collection is located primarily on the 21st and 22nd floors of the W.E.B. Du Bois Library, though East Asian language materials are also located in other areas throughout the library:
- The East Asian Collection (21st floor): Books and journals written in Japanese, Chinese, or Korean. Almost all of these materials may be checked out, but journals have a very short circulation period.
- The East Asian Reference Collection (22nd floor): Selection of the most frequently consulted dictionaries, encyclopedia, and other reference tools for East Asian studies. This room is always unlocked. Reference materials may not be checked out.
- The East Asian Reference Room READ Collections (22nd floor): Collections of Chinese, Japanese, and Korean language books for language learners. This includes graded readers, children's books, manga, and short story collections. These materials may be checked out.
- DVDs, CDs (6th floor, Media Collection): We have a large collection of movies, audiobooks, and documentaries. These materials are interfiled with the regular collection. They may be checked out.
- Rare books, such as the Lyman Collection, are part of Special Collections and Archives (25th floor).
