Japanese 381: Junior Year Writing on Japan
This is a guide for undergraduates who want to limit their research to English language resources.
Your Librarian
Sharon Domier
Contact:
room 2249 (22nd floor)
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
University of Massachusetts
Amherst, MA
01275
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
University of Massachusetts
Amherst, MA
01275
413-577-2633
Website
Top Choices for Japanese Studies
Not all databases provide the full-text of articles. Some like BAS are citation only. In most cases there will be a UMLinks button that you can click that will search our local information and tell you if there is an e-text available, print copy in the 5 colleges, or if you need to request a copy through interlibrary loan. It costs the library quite a bit of money to purchase the articles on your behalf - so use interlibrary loan wisely.
Sometimes you want to work backwards. You see a citation in a book or article that you want to read. You can either use the Discovery Search to look up the information or go to the eJournals list to see if we subscribe to the journal.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Citations to western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters relating to Asia and Asian Studies, 1971-present - Historical Abstracts Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, many in full text, and citations to books and dissertations on world history from 1450, published 1954-present. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920s - - PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, government documents, reports in the fields of political science, public and social policy, international relations 1915-. - Linguistics Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for articles in the scholarly journals of linguistics, 1985-present. - Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to the humanities, social sciences, and non-technical general sciences, 1980-present.
- Google ScholarIf you connect to Google Scholar through the Library page, you will be able to access the articles for which the library has paid subscription fees. Sometimes Google Scholar is a good choice when you are thinking about a topic and not sure what angle to take.
Popular Articles
- Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for articles from popular periodicals from the U.S. and Canada, 1890-1982.
Other Options
- Japan Focus"In-depth critical analysis of the forces shaping the Asia-Pacific . . . and the world. The Asia-Pacific Journal seeks to illuminate the geopolitics, economics, history, society, culture, international relations and forces for change in the modern and contemporary Asia-Pacific."-- website
- Highlighting JapanOnline magazine published by the Japanese government. Good to see what kind of topics Japan is promoting overseas.
