East Asian Studies

General information and lists of course guides for East Asian Languages and Cultures.

China (Chinese Language)

China Academic Journals 中国期刊全文数据库
A comprehensive index of Chinese scholarly journals. UMass has a subscription to access the full text of articles in Section F, Humanities, beginning in 1994. Other articles may be requested through interlibrary loan.
The link above is the simplified Chinese language interface. You may also use one of these interfaces to search the database:
- English language: https://login.silk.library.umass.edu/login?url=https://oversea-cnki-net.silk.library.umass.edu/
- Traditional Chinese language: https://login.silk.library.umass.edu/login?url=https://tra-oversea-cnki-net.silk.library.umass.edu/
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
China/Asia On Demand (CAOD)
Nearly all journals in China, with coverage across all regions of Asia, including articles, theses, dissertations, patents and conference proceedings.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
ChinaMaxx 中文集献
Chinese e-books in all fields of study.　You may search and look at the first 17 pages of any book in the database. If you want to ask the Library to purchase full access, please click on the Recommend button.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Gujin Tushu Jicheng 古今圖書集成
Complete Classics Collection of Ancient China, pub. 1726: literary, scholarly and technical works through the Qing Dynasty.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
People's Daily (Ren Min Ri Bao)
Chinese newspaper of record, 1946-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
On the landing page, you will use the “click here” link underneath “People’s Daily – Renmin Ribao (1946-present)" to access the database.
There is a maximum of two (2) simultaneous users for this database.
Shen Bao Digital Archive
The first newspaper in China with a Chinese editorial staff, 1872-1949. Established in 1872, Shen Bao (申報, historically transliterated as Shun Pao or Shen-pao) was the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper before the establishment of the People’s Republic. Published until 1949, Shen Bao was uniquely a newspaper for Chinese readers, written by Chinese reporters. During its existence, Shen Bao gradually shifted from a conservative to a more liberal perspective, and played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the imperial period and into the tumultuous beginnings of modern China.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Siku Quanshu 四庫全書
3,460 works of history, astronomy, geography, politics, economics, and others from ancient China. Compiled 1773-1782, by edict of Emperor Qianlong.

Click the title link if you are a first time user for instructions on how to access the resource. If you have already downloaded the viewing software, follow this link to use the product.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Zhang Letian Fieldwork Database
From 1954 to 1982, Chinese society was buffeted by upheaval from the “Great Leap Forward” and the “Cultural Revolution.” China was in tumult and the PRC was all but closed. Zhang Letian, a Fudan University professor and well-known expert in field of development and transformation of rural China, diligently collected rare materials from this era while conducting fieldwork in his ancestral village of Lianmin (Haining, Zhejiang Province).
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

China (English Language)

In addition to the resources below, also look through the Library Guides for history, political science, and related fields.

Asian Business Database
The Asian business collection focuses on companies, economies, markets and overall business conditions in the Eastern Hemisphere.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Benezit Dictionary of Asian Artists
More than 4,700 entries on Asian artists representing all regions of the continent, including the Middle East, and every era from antiquity to the present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Citations to western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters relating to Asia and Asian Studies, 1971-present
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Border and Migration Studies Online
Provides historical background to more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others. The fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues are covered such as the migrant crisis, refugee camps, human trafficking, women and children migrants and much more.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Abstracts Full Text
Journal articles, many in full text, and citations to books and dissertations on world history from 1450, published 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Chinese Newspapers
English-language newspapers published in China. Coverage spans 1832-1953, with most content from 1910-1940.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Newspaper: South China Morning Post
English-language newspaper published in Hong Kong, with coverage from 1903 - 2001
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Oxford Bibliographies: Chinese Studies
Expert discussion of topics and sub-topics in Chinese Studies, with extensive annotated lists of best books and articles.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Last Updated: Mar 24, 2025 2:14 PM
URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/eastasian
Print Page

Subjects: East Asian Studies