Readings & Media on Justice, Equity, Diversity, & Inclusion

First published in 1999, the groundbreaking Exile and Pride is essential to the history and future of disability politics. Eli Clare's revelatory writing about his experiences as a white disabled genderqueer activist/writer established him as one of the leading writers on the intersections of queerness and disability and permanently changed the landscape of disability politics and queer liberation. With a poet's devotion to truth and an activist's demand for justice, Clare deftly unspools the multiple histories from which our ever-evolving sense of self unfolds. His essays weave together memoir, history, and political thinking to explore meanings and experiences of home: home as place, community, bodies, identity, and activism. Here readers will find an intersectional framework for understanding how we actually live with the daily hydraulics of oppression, power, and resistance. At the root of Clare's exploration of environmental destruction and capitalism, sexuality and institutional violence, gender and the body politic, is a call for social justice movements that are truly accessible to everyone. With heart and hammer, Exile and Pride pries open a window onto a world where our whole selves, in all their complexity, can be realized, loved, and embraced.

Designed to provide practical information to library workers of all types, this book offers specific strategies for supporting trans people in their libraries. As trans people (including those on the nonbinary spectrum) start to feel safer expressing their identities in public, libraries are making an effort to show that they welcome people of all gender identities. Yet there are many potential barriers to actively supporting trans people, including lack of knowledge about the needs of the trans community and lack of funding or institutional support. This book, written entirely by trans library workers, is designed to dismantle some of these barriers. Supporting Trans People in Libraries is relevant for library workers of any background and position. People with little knowledge about trans identities can start with the opening introductory chapters, while those looking for guidance on a specific situation--such as adding all-gender restrooms, interacting respectfully with trans coworkers, deciding what information to require on library card applications, writing inclusive job postings, making collection development decisions, and more--can jump to a particular chapter. For each topic, there are sections on easy fixes, best practices, and example language. Readers can easily adapt the information to benefit their libraries and communities in concrete ways. Provides introductory information on trans people, community needs, and preferred language Offers specific best practices for creating inclusive library environments for trans patrons and employees Includes resources and suggestions for long-term support of trans people in libraries Suggests inclusive language for various scenarios (e.g., sharing pronouns and writing job descriptions)

A delicate exploration of the discrimination that gender-diverse people face, this book analyzes the relationship between gender identity and performance in the workplace while considering the emotional and economic survival of those who identify as transgender. The transgender community is more visible now than ever before, but the diversity within this community has remained obscure in the workplace as organizations, corporations, and institutions struggle to keep up with the rate at which transgender communities are gaining visibility. For leaders seeking best practices related to bathroom access, workplace transition, hiring practices, inclusive workplace culture, and more, this book offers guidance and novel policy recommendations designed to ensure the success of transgender employees. Extending the existing theoretical literature on masculinity in the workplace, gender discrimination, and gender performance, the book introduces the new concept of "doing ambiguity." It contains original research complemented by humanizing narratives from transgender people that provide insights into rarely explored non-binary, gender-fluid, and genderless experiences. In addition, it identifies factors that may preclude and minimize discrimination, including strategies pursued by transgender people at the individual level as well as policies employed at the organization level, and outlines a pragmatic set of policy recommendations for employers, community leaders, and others looking to help transgender people thrive in organizational environments. * Discusses long-ignored nuances of transgender identity through narratives of non-binary, gender-fluid, and genderless experiences, in the context of workplace discrimination * Extends existing theoretical literature on masculinity in the workplace, gender discrimination, and gender performance * Identifies factors that may preclude and minimize discrimination * Proposes a pragmatic set of policy recommendations for employers, community leaders, and others * Provides best practices around such policy items as bathroom access, workplace transition, hiring practices, and inclusive workplace culture

Helping to create inclusive work environments for non-binary people, this book builds knowledge of non-binary identities and provides practical solutions to many of the basic workplace problems this group face. Working with and including non-binary people in the workplace is beneficial for both employer and employee, as it attracts and retains younger and non-binary workers by helping promote an inclusive brand, as well as satisfying equality obligations. Based on novel research of non-binary inclusion within businesses, it provides a basic overview of non-binary people, a business case for inclusion, a brief description of how non-binary people fit into current equality laws and likely future developments in the area. An ideal introduction for companies wishing to embrace all genders in the workplace.

Respect and understanding between colleagues is essential in any healthy, productive, equal-opportunities workplace. But as an employer, are you aware of the specific needs of transgender employees and applicants? This concise volume is the essential introduction for any employer on how to work effectively and respectfully with transgender employees, without asking the employee inappropriate or personal questions. In simple terms, it explains what it means to be transgender, the common challenges transgender people experience, and how you can best support transgender employees in their roles, and in their relationships with colleagues and clients. The book clarifies employers' legal responsibilities towards employees, offers practical solutions to bullying, and provides information on health and safety as well as medical issues such as surgeries and hormone therapy. The glossary of terms elucidates the finer points, such as the correct language to use with the employee, and the crucial differences between transgender identities, including gender variant and non-binary. By improving professional relationships company-wide and promoting your employees' wellbeing, this book will ultimately assist you in building a happier and higher-performing work force.

Offering a fresh and practical perspective for employers and gender-diverse professionals, this book presents useful tools, information, and resources to help organizations and individuals to understand and leverage the power of gender authenticity as a pathway to business success. The unemployment rate for gender-diverse individuals is disproportionately high. This book will help employers to better understand why this blatant discrepancy exists. It also provides useful solutions and potential remedies for the problem in the form of gender authenticity, an exciting and powerful concept that is taking the global business community in innovative directions. The breakthrough paradigm of gender authenticity is helping many organizations to become more inclusive while simultaneously gaining a significant competitive advantage. The author, a leading diversity consultant, introduces five fundamentals for creating gender-authentic workplaces. Human resource and diversity professionals will not find a more useful source than this book to help people and organizations to deal effectively with the issue of gender diversity on the job, and gender-diverse employees will learn new strategies for advancing their careers while achieving and maintaining gender authenticity. * Explains the forms and causes of discrimination faced by gender-diverse individuals in the workplace * Provides a definition and examples of gender authenticity, the only published resource to articulate the concept of gender authenticity as a powerful tool for enhancing organizational workplace culture * Offers five fundamentals for achieving a gender-authentic workplace * Presents an entire chapter on recognizing and responding to resistance