Latin American Studies
This web guide is designed to assist you in using the Library's Latin American Studies resources, print and virtual.
This website has separate pages for
Above all, don't hesitate to contact me to request a reference consulation, a bibliographic instruction session at the library for your class, or to suggest purchasing books or other materials to add to our collection. ¡A sus órdenes!
Top online resources (Requires UMass logon)
|Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)||Articles from scholarly journals on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the US -Mexico border area, and US Hispanics, 1970-present.|
|Handbook of Latin American Studies||Citations to works published internationally on Latin America, produced by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, 1936-present. (Open access to public)
|Indexes thousands of Latin American science, social science and humanities journals. Articles in Spanish, Portuguese, French, English, 1975-present|
|Informe||Articles from 140 Spanish-language magazines and journals, 1987-present.|
|Latin American Weekly Report||News and analysis of current conditions in Latin America. Current|
|Historical Abstracts||Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present, 1954-present.
|JSTOR||Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.|
RefWorks is a bibliographical management software which will help you organize your citations, articles, books, etc. paid for by the UMass Amherst Library, that the UMass Amherst community can access from the Library website. RefWorks collects, stores, and organizes citations from books, articles from databases, web sites, and other sources. RefWorks automatically converts citations into properly formatted bibliographies
Better than using 3"x5' index cards!