Effective Decision-Making in the Age of Cloud Computing
Assignment 1: Workplace Decision-Making:
Assignment Summary. In your BSC research, identify three issues related to decision-making in Business Organizations. For example, your Virtual-Team coud examine: a) how decisions made outside the workplace effect what happens in the workplace; b) decision-making involving the impact of technology; or c) other decision-making issues that your believe are relevant to the Assignments that your Virtual-Team will complete during this semester. Limit your BSC research to articles from the past two years. Choose four articles from BSC that illustrate the types of decision-making chosen by your Virtual-Team. Write an Executive Summary about your choices.
As your Virtual-Team identifies the issues called for in Assignment 1, take notes on the "decision-making flow" used by the Members of your own Virtual-Team to arrive at your final choices. This "decision-making flow" will form the basis of your first Virtual-Team Presentation delivered later in this Semester. BIS Students from the NUI Galway campus will create a Visio chart that displays your Virtual-Team's decision-making flow.
Within your Virtual-Team, choose a name for your Team. The name should have some reference to Clouds.
Assignment 1: Performance Goals
| Understands database limiters: | Uses limiters for publication date and document-type (Articles). |
| Creates effective search statements: | Uses relevant search terms to explore scholarship on decision making. |
| Identifies three discrete lines of research: | Identifies articles that exemplify three current-decision making research topics. |
| Writes an Executive Summary: | Explains three research topics, and provides citations for relevant examples. |
| Exports relevant results: | Uses output options to post; print; download; or export Executive Summaries and articles. |
Assignment 1: Database Search Tips
| Limit to Full-text Articles: | Check the FULL-TEXT box (under Limit your results) to create lists of full-text articles. |
| Default Search Setting: | The default search setting searches for words in the article citation and abstract. |
| Refine the Search: | Narrow/broaden search with drop-down indexes (right of search box), e.g., all text, titles. |
| Filter Results by Publication-Type: | Filter by publication type in the left column of the results screen. |
| Sort Results by Date or Relevance: | Locate the date and relevance sort options in the top bar of the results screen. |
Assignment 1: Instructions
- Go to the BSC, Advanced Search screen (connect: NUI - Galway; UMass Amherst; AU - Cairo; Chiao Tung U
- Check the FULL-TEXT check box, located below the SEARCH OPTIONS heading.
- Check the ARTICLE check box in the DOCUMENT TYPE section located below the SEARCH OPTIONS heading.
- Locate the PUBLISHED DATE FROM drop-down menu. Set the date limit to articles published from February 2012 to February 2014.
- Insert the phrase decision-making into the search box located at the top-of-the page. Click drop-down menu at the right of the search box, and choose SU Subject Terms. Click the SEARCH button.
- Explore search results. Identify research patterns/themes. Select three decision-making topics of interest to your Team.
- Write an Executive Summary describing the three decision-making research topics your Virtual-Team chose. Cite one article for each topic. This Semester, Students from 5-Different Countries as Members of our 5-Virtual Teams. When your Virtual-Team completes the main portion of your Executive Summary, we ask that the Students from each of the 5-Countries (Egypt; Ireland; Russia; Taiwan; and the United States) write a, "Cultural Addendum" to the Executive Summary (100 words in length) explaining how the Assignment 1 Topic might be impacted by cultural norms in their particular Country.
- Post the Executive Summary to your Virtual-Team's Sub-Site in the Cloud Course Portal.
Decision Associations
Honey Bee Decision Society
