Microbiology
Getting the article
This button is in most of the databases to help find the full text of your article online, if we have access through the libraries.
Or, it will search the library catalog to see if we have your article in print
--or link you to Interlibrary Loan to get it from elsewhere.
Article databases for Microbiology
Off-campus access: log in with your UMass Amherst NetID.
These are my best recommendations for databases to find microbiology articles. See next box for more advice.
- ASM Online Journals This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Eleven journals from the American Society for Microbiology, in full text. Full text from 1995 to present; abstracts from 1992. - PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1946-present. PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus content from additional journals and books in the life sciences. - AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers agriculture; plant and animal sciences; forestry; entomology; soil and water resources; agricultural economics and engineering; alternative farming; nutrition, 1970-present. - CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CAB focuses on international development - providing access to the world’s applied life sciences literature, 1973 to present.
UMass Libraries' subscription includes: CAB Abstracts Archive; VetMed Resource. - BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of the life sciences literature, including conference papers, books, and peer-reviewed journal articles, relating to life sciences, 1969-present. (Web of Science platform) - Food Science and Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles in 1,800 food science journals, plus other scholarly material, on all aspects of food science, nutrition, and processing, 1969-present. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present. - Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to periodical articles and other scholarly literature on zoology, biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, and genetics, 1864-present.
Choosing a database
The best databases to search depends on your topic. For example:
- PubMed is best for medical topics
- CAB Abstracts or Agricola for soil microorganisms
- Food safety, perhaps Food Science & Technology Abstracts
If you need help on where best to loo, ask me!
