Landscape Architecture and Regional Planning (LARP) - Research Guide
Special Collections & Archives (SCUA)
SCUA is located on the 25th floor of the W.E.B. Du Bois Library at UMass Amherst.
Landscape plans, photos, correspondence, campus history, papers of famed practictioners such as Frank Waugh, James Rose, Frederick Law Olmsted...
Although research appointments are not required, advance notice helps staff locate and retrieve research materials.
First-time researcher? You will need to provide a valid photo ID, current address and institutional affiliation (when applicable).
5-Colleges Archives and Manuscripts
- Five Colleges Archives and Manuscript Collections This link opens in a new windowExplore unique digital collections from Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, and Smith colleges.
MORE ABOUT UMASS:
The Marmot Catalog is embedded in the web page for Special Collections and University Archives in the W.E.B. Du Bois Library.
http://scua.library.umass.edu/umarmot/
On the right hand side, you will see “Collecting areas.” Use the drop down “Select Category” to search these recommended categories:
Agriculture
Botany & horticulture
Conservationism
Environment
Landscape & gardening
Agriculture
Agricultural education
Farming & rural life
NOTE: Anything with digital content in Credo will be reflected in those lists with a red button “digital.”
Also, we have many photographs of landscapes, which would be in Credo, including the Buildings and Grounds series of the University Photograph Collection. http://credo.library.umass.edu/view/series/murg150
Maps
- Map CollectionOver 120,000 printed maps, charts, plans, aerial views, atlases, and other cartographic renderings depicting the universe, the world, the oceans, continents, countries, all of the United States and major cities. Thematic map subjects include the environmental and geosciences, land use, human and cultural geography, biogeography, economy, political boundaries, mines and mineral resources, recreation areas, travel and transportation, history, and many other subject areas.
Images
- Image ResourcesSelected databases and internet resources.
Poster printing
Come to the Learning Commons on the ground floor of the Du Bois Library to print posters.
An appointment is necessary.
Digital Media Lab - Du Bois 3rd floor
The Digital Media Lab is a multimedia and 3D print production space designed to support students working on video, audio, animation and 3D modeling.
