Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMass Amherst Libraries

Native American & Indigenous Studies

A general library research guide for Native American & Indigenous Studies at UMass Amherst.

At Other Locations

Archives and Special Collections at Other Locations

The Billie Jane Baguley Library and Archives
Located in Phoenix, Arizona, this comprehensive research facility includes information about indigenous art and cultures from around the world and a resource file containing information about more than 19,000 Native American artists.

Guía preliminar de fuentes documentales etnográficas para el estudio de los pueblos indígenas de Iberoamérica
Provides links to descriptions of archival resources on Latin American indigenous populations in Latin America, Europe, and the United States.

Mashantucket Pequot Museum and Research Center Archives & Special Collections
Department supports research in Mashantucket Pequot history and culture in particular, as well as other Native North American histories and cultures. Located in Mashantucket, Connecticut.

UMass Amherst Special Collections

The Special Collections and Archives Department (Floor 25, W.E.B. Du Bois Library) contains manuscript collections; the records of many organizations, businesses, and community groups of the region; and a variety of materials that document the history of UMass Amherst.

The collections include the following which may be of interest to Native American Indian Studies researchers:

American Indian Student Association (1988- )
Records of this UMass student association are included in the University Records collections.
RG-45/40/I6.

A Farther Discovery of the Present State of the Indians in New England: Concerning the Progress of the Gospel Among Them, Manifested by Letters From Such as Preached to Them Then. Whitfield, Henry, 1597-1660?. New York: Printed for J. Sabin, 1865.
Special Collections E173 .S2 no. 3.

A Further Manifestation of the Progress of the Gospel among the Indians in New England. Society for Propagation of the Gospel in New England. New York: Reprinted for J. Sabin, 1865.
Special Collections E173 .S2 no.6.

A General History of New England, From the Discovery to MDCLXXX. Hubbard, William Rev. Massachusetts Historical Society. Cambridge: Hilliard & Metcalf, 1815.
Special Collections F7 .H94 1815. [Also Microfilm A 81 Reel 575.5.]

Massachusetts Indian Association, Stockbridge Auxiliary Records, 1886-1925
Records include minutes that document the group's committees, meetings, dues, and contributions to Indians on reservations nationwide, accounts, membership lists.
Special Collections MS 151

A Narrative of the Causes which Led to Philip's Indian War, of 1675 and 1676. Easton, John of Rhode Island; with other documents concerning this event in the office of the secretary of state of New York; prepared from the originals, with an introduction and notes. By Franklin B. Hough. Easton, John, 1617-1705. Albany: J. Munsell, 1858.
Special Collections E83.67 .E19.

A Narrative of the Indian Wars in New England: From the First Planting Thereof in the Year 1607, to the Year 1677: Containing a Relation of the Occasion Rise and Progress of the War with the Indians, in the Southern, Western, Eastern and Northern Parts of the Said Country. Hubbard, William. Worcester, MA: Printed by Daniel Greenleaf for Joseph Wilder, 1801. First published at Boston, 1677, under title: A narrative of the troubles with the Indians in New-England ... To which is added a discourse about the warre with the Pequods in the year 1637.
Special Collections E82 .H89 1801.

A Particular History of the Five Years French and Indian War in New England and Parts Adjacent, From its declaration by the King of France, March 15,1744, to the Treaty with the Eastern Indians, Oct.16, 1749, Sometimes Called Governor Shirley's War. Drake, Samuel G. Albany: J. Munsell, 1870.
Special Collections E198 .D75 1870a [A circulating copy in the stacks: E198 .D75 1983].