Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMass Amherst Libraries

Native American & Indigenous Studies

A general library research guide for Native American & Indigenous Studies at UMass Amherst.

Databases

Journal indexing,online journals, and more. 

 

Tips:

  1. From off-campus locations, an OIT Computer Account is required to access licensed databases.
  2. Use the Database Searching Log to keep track of your searches and search strategies.
  3. Use RefWorks to manage your citations and create your bibliography.
  4. After you've run a search, use the Check+availability+in button (if the database has it) to retrieve articles.
  • Academic Search Premier - Multidisciplinary database with many anthropology journals. Citations, abstracts and full text articles. 
  • America: History and Life - citations and abstracts for journal articles, dissertations and book reviews published in over 2000 journals covering United States and Canadian history (including especially historical archeology). 
  • Anthropology Plus - Indexes articles, books, and more. 
  • Bibliography of Native North Americans - citations to books, essays, journal articles, and government documents on all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life from pre-history to the present, with some coverage back to the sixteenth century.
  • eHRAF Collection of Archaeology Archaeology books, journal articles, and dissertations describing prehistoric life and archaeological sites across the world, 1983-present.
  • EHRAF World Cultures - Thousands of ethnographies originally published as articles, books and dissertations. 
  • ERIC - Articles and reports dealing with issues in education.
  • Ethnic Newswatch - Full text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of Native American Indian and other ethnic communities in the United States. Publications include: News From Indian Country, Akwesasne Notes, Indian Country Today, Pequot Times, and The Seminole Tribune, among many more.
  • JSTOR (full text) Scholarly journals. 
  • *National Archeological Database
  • "Bibliographic inventory of approximately 240,000 reports on archeological planning and investigation... This 'gray literature' represents a large portion of the primary information available on archeological sites in the U.S. " Also includes a variety of maps.
  • Web of Science - Allows multidisciplinary searches combining arts, humanities, social science and science. Citations can be saved in a text file and imported to RefWorks using a filter.
  • Westlaw Campus Research - Full text legal encyclopedias, law reviews, and legal treatises; federal and state statutes, regulations, court decisions; and newspapers, news wires, magazines and business and industry data.

About this guide

This is a library and online research guide for Honors 499C: Historic and Contemporary Issues of American Indians and Tribes: History, Policy and Law, taught by Professor Kathleen Brown-Perez, Fall 2009.

The guide was created by Isabel Espinal, Librarian for Native American Indian Studies.

Books

Reference Sources

  • Encyclopedia of Massachusetts Indians: Tribes, Nations, and People of the Plains Eastern Woodlands E78.M4 E63 1999
  • Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes Ref. E76.2 .W35 1999
  • Encyclopedia of North American Indians Ref E76.2 .E53 1997
  • Encyclopedia of North American Indians (online)
  • Handbook of North American Indians Ref E77 .H36. Library has volumes 2-15 and 17
  • Native Americans: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Peoples Ref E77 .P89 1998
  • The rights of Indians and tribes: the Authoritative ACLU Guide to Indian and Tribal Rights Ref KF8210.C5 P48 2002

Books

We order for you - for free!

Use your Interlibrary Loan account to:

  • Borrow books, videos, and other materials not available in the Five College system.
  • Request electronic copies of articles and book chapters not available at UMass.

Use the UMLinks feature for easy ordering.

Introducing RefWorks

RefWorks

Put all your references in RefWorks, create quick and easy bibliographies, build your knowledgebase.

1. Set up your account by clicking on the RefWorks link on the library homepage. From the RefWorks info page, choose "RefWorks Login & New Account Set up." From the login page, choosse "New to RefWorks? - Sign up for an Individual Account." Note: You get to choose your own username and password - make them easy to remember!

2. Get your book citations into RefWorks

Books from the UMass Catalog

  1. Within RefWorks, go to the search menu on the left side top and choose "Online Catalog or database"
  2. In the next screen, under "Online Catalog or Database to Search" choose "University of Massachusetts Amherst." If you have a specific title or author, go to the advanced search at the bottom and run your search.
  3. Your results will appear in a separate window or tab. choose the title(s) you want to import to your RefWorks account and click on "Import."

Books from WorldCat (includes UMass books)

  1. Go to www.worldcat.org
  2. Conduct a search.
  3. Click “Cite” in the on the page for an individual book title.
  4. Choose "Export to Refworks."
  5. Log into RefWorks.

3. Get your journal article citations into RefWorks
Most databases have a way to export citations into RefWorks directly.

If you need more help or info on RefWorks, check out the FAQs.

Journals

Journals (for browsing)

  • Akwesasne Notes (Alternate title: Longhouse News). Per E75 .A392 [1995-1996]; Microfilm A 431 [1969-1996]; and A 265 [Underground Newspaper Collection Series. For Holdings and Reel Nos. see Ref. Z6514 .U5U49] Also online
  • American Antiquity Per E51 .A52 and online
  • American Indian Culture and Research Journal Per E75 .A5124
  • American Indian Law Review Per K1 .M437 and online
  • American Indian Quarterly Per E76 .A547 and online
  • American Journal of Archaeology (1897-1997) and current issues (2000-)
  • Archaeology of Eastern North America E77.8 .A7
  • Bulletin of the Massachusetts Archaeological Society Per F66 .M368
  • CRM [Cultural Resources Management] online only
  • Cultural Survival Quarterly Per GN357 .N48 Also online
  • Ethnohistory online only
  • Journal of Anthropological Archaeology Per CC79.E85 J68 (1982-2001) and online
  • North American Archaeologist Per E43 .N67
  • Northeast Anthropology Per GN1 .M33
  • Southeastern Archaeology online only