Libraries Ask Us

Native American & Indigenous Studies

A general library research guide for Native American & Indigenous Studies at UMass Amherst.

Databases for Native American Indian Studies

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews, many in full text, relating to United States and Canadian history and prehistory, 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
American National Biography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 19,000 biographies of significant, influential or notorious figures from American history written by prominent scholars.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The scholarly literature of archeology and anthropology (biological, physical, linguistic, social and cultural) in several languages, late 1800s to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Arts and humanities journal literature from 1975 to present. Searches by author, topic, cited reference and more.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, essays and government documents on native North American history and culture from pre-history to the present, 1800-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US and Canadian dissertations and theses from 1861 to present. Mostly full-text 1997 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of ethnographies originally published as articles, books and dissertations. Its indexing traces social features across cultures, 1983-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education journal articles (EJ references) and ERIC documents (ED references), 1967-present. EDs before 1997 are requestable using the Microforms Request page and usable in the Microforms Vewing Room in the LC.
A free version of ERIC is available for all to use at this link: https://eric.ed.gov/.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic communities in the United States. In several languages, 1965-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to the humanities, social sciences, and non-technical general sciences, 1980-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals on Latin America & the Caribbean, the US-Mexico border area, and U.S. Latinos, 1970-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles from international political science periodicals, 1951-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Linguistics Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for articles in the scholarly journals of linguistics, 1985-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920s -
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

National Archeological Database
Citations to approximately 240,000 reports on archeological planning and investigation. Also includes a variety of maps.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed journal literature in psychology, behavioral science and mental health - 2,500 journal titles indexed - 2.8 million records - 1887 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Social Law Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Unique material includes MA administrative agency rulings, Superior Court, Housing Court, and Land Court opinions, as well as the Massachusetts Register. Users can also access Fastcase legal research service, and the Legal Information Reference Center which includes information and forms for patrons of varying legal expertise.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and citation tracking for journals in all the social sciences, 1900-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, and conference papers on sociology and related disciplines, 1960-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The combined catalogs of most U.S. libraries.
Content is freely available for use by all.