Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMass Amherst Libraries

Researching the Early History of Black Lives in the Connecticut River Valley

Introduction

Many city directories from the Connecticut River Valley have been digitized, and some of them are available freely online.  The Internet Archive, for instance, fifty volumes of Springfield city directories, five volumes from Greenfield, seventeen from Amherst, and other towns around the Valley, are available online.

The following is  a list of city directories from towns alongside or adjacent to the Connecticut River. They are organized by location of the archive and year the directory was created. 

Selected Materials in the W.E.B. DuBois Library Collection

Geer's Hartford city directory
Call Number: Special Collections F 104 H3 A18 1857-1858, 1868-1869

Greenfield, Massachusetts city directory
Call Number: F 74 G85 G83 + 1988-1989

Hill-Donnelly cross reference directory. Northampton-Greenfield, Massachusetts and vicinity
Call Number: Reference (latest year) HE 8840 M4 H55 1987-2001, 2003-

Manning's Greenfield, Montague, Deerfields directory
Call Number: F 74 G85 A18 1979-1986

North Adams general directory, including Blackinton, Greylock, and Braytonville
Call Number: F 74 N8 A18 1887

Northampton Easthampton directory
Call Number: F 74 N86 A18 54(1936)-72(1954), 74(1956), 86(1968)-94(1979), 96(1981)-97(1982)

Northampton, Massachusetts city directory
Call Number: F 74 N86 A18 + 1988-1990

Price & Lee's Amherst (Hampshire County, MA) city directory
Call Number: F 74 A5 A19 1964-1975

Springfield and vicinity blue book; cross reference directory
Call Number: F 74 S8 A17 + 1974