This is the "Massachusetts" page of the "Newspaper Collection - US Newspapers by State & City" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Newspaper Collection - US Newspapers by State & City  

Last Updated: Jul 16, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/newspapers Print Guide RSS Updates

Massachusetts Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

US Newspaper Collection: Introduction

The following geographical listing of U.S. newspapers is arranged by state and then alphabetically by city. Brackets [ ] indicate incomplete holdings. For the most accurate holdings information consult with a Reference Librarian or check the online catalog.  Current UMass Amherst students, faculty, and staff enjoy remote access to the online resources while others are welcome to use these resources within the University Libraries.

The W.E.B. Du Bois Library at the University of Massachusetts Amherst houses an outstanding newspaper collection. Acquired through purchase, donation, and subscription, these primary sources document historical events as they occurred by those who witnessed them.  Newspapers provide a treasure-trove of information for genealogists - vital research clues (relationships, dates, addresses, etc.), insights into ancestors’ daily lives, and private tidbits unavailable elsewhere.

 

Massachusetts Newspapers: Amherst to Fall River

City Newspaper Name Holdings Location
Amherst Aggie Life 10/1890-10/16/1901 UM Microfilm A334,
10/1890-10/16/1901 UM SCUA Microforms/190/11
10/1890-10/16/1901 Online: Archive.org
Amherst Bulletin 1984-06/1990 UM Microfilm A993
1994- Online: Massachusetts NewsBank
Current issues DuBois Library 5th Floor
Amherst Hampshire Record 10/11/1978-02/1979 UM Microfilm A338
Amherst Journal Record 12/1953-1964 UM Microfilm A338
Amherst Morning Record 03/1979-02/1980 UM Microfilm A338
Amherst Record 05/1868-1953, 1965-10/1978 UM Microfilm A338
College Signal 11/06/1901-06/1914 UM Microfilm A334  
11/06/1901-06/1914 UM SCUA Microforms/190/12
   11/06/1901-06/1914 Online: Archive.org
Free Valley Advocate [1975] UM Microfilm A265
Hampshire and Franklin Express 09/13/1844-01/20/1865 UM Microfilm A338
Hampshire Express 01/27/1865-04/30/1868 UM Microfilm A338
The Massachusetts Collegian 09/15/1914-05/05/1967 UM Microfilm A334
09/15/1914-05/05/1967 UM SCUA Microforms/190/13
09/15/1914-05/05/1967 Online: Archive.org
Massachusetts Daily Collegian 1967- UM Microfilm A334
1967- UM SCUA Microforms/190/13
1967- Online: Archive.org
Current issues Du Bois Library 5th Floor
Mother of Voices [1967-1969] UM Microfilm A265
New Roots [1978-1982] UM Microfilm A265
Valley Advocate 1973-1976, 1978- UM Microfilm A635
[1973-1977] UM Microfilm A265
Attleboro Speak Easy 1968 undated issue, 04/1969 UM Microfilm A265
Barre Barre Gazette 1835-06/1838, 05/1839-1862 UM Microfilm A1040
Barre Patriot [1844-1855] UM Microfilm A1038
Barre Weekly Gazette [06/1838-05/1839] UM Microfilm A1040
Farmer's Gazette 06/1834-05/1835 UM Microfilm A1040
The Wachusett Star 11/1847-06/1848 UM Microfilm A1039
Boston Agricultural Intelligencer and Mechanic Register 01/1820-07/1820 UM SCUA S1 A164
American Avatar [1969] UM Microfilm A265
The American Apollo [1792] UM Microfilm A82 Reel 1
1792-1794 UM Microprint 2
American Herald [04/1784-06/1788] UM Microprint 4
The American Herald and the General Advertiser 01/1784-03/1784 UM Microprint 4
The Argus 07/1791-06/1793 UM Microprint 5
The Avatar [1967-1968] UM Microfilm A265
Bay State Banner 09/25/1965-12/27/1979 Online: Ethnic NewsWatch
Bay Windows 12/10/1998- Online: LGBT Life with Full Text
The Beacon Hill Times 06/2002- Online: Alt-PressWatch
Boston Banner 1965-1979 Online: Ethnic NewsWatch History
03/05/1992- Online: Ethnic NewsWatch
The Boston Chronicle 10/1767-06/1770 UM Microprint 1
[1769] UM Microfilm 2332
[07/1769-08/1769] Online: Mass. Historical Society
Boston Courier 07/1843-01/1847 UM Microfilm A845
Boston Daily Evening Transcript 1866-11/09/1872 UM Microfilm A165
1872-04/07/1960 UM Microfilm A37
Boston Daily Globe 1925-06/1943 UM Microfilm A400
Boston Evening Post 08/18/1735-04/25/1775 UM Microprint 50
10/20/1781-01/10/1784 UM Microprint 4
[1765, 1767-1775] UM Microfilm 2332
[1765, 1767-1775] Online: Mass. Historical Society
Boston Evening Transcript 1854-09/1866, 11/1872-1915 UM Microfilm A165
07/1938-08/1938 Online: CRL
Boston Gazette [1719-1741] UM Microprint 25
1721-05/21/1722 Online: Burney Collection
Boston Gazette and Country Journal 04/12/1756-04/05/1779 UM Microprint 25
[1765-1777] UM Microfilm 2332
[1765-1777] Online: Mass. Historical Society
Boston Gazette and the Country Journal 04/12/1779-12/30/1793 UM Microprint 25
Boston Gazette and Weekly Republican Journal 1794-09/17/1798 UM Microprint 25
Boston Gazette or Country Journal 04/1755-04/05/1756 UM Microprint 25
Boston Gazette or New England Weekly Journal 10/20/1741 UM Microprint 25
Boston Gazette or Weekly Advertiser 1753-04/01/1755 UM Microprint 25
Boston Gazette or Weekly Journal 10/27/1741-1752 UM Microprint 25
Boston Globe 1960- UM Microfilm A37
Current issues Du Bois Library 5th Floor
1960-1983 Online: ProQuest Hist. Newspapers
04/23/2000-07/27/2007 Online: Massachusetts History Online
1872-1979 Online: Historical Boston Globe
1980- Online: ProQuest Boston Globe
The Boston Herald 1881-10/07/1917, 1919-07/09/1967 UM Microfilm A154
Current issues Du Bois Library 5th Floor
1982- UM Microfilm A169
Boston Herald American 1973-1982 UM Microfilm A169
10/24/1976-12/26/1976 UM Microfilm A316
Boston Herald and Boston Journal 10/08/1917-1918 UM Microfilm A154
Boston Herald Traveler and Record American 06/1972-12/1972 UM Microfilm A169
Boston News-Letter 04/24/1704-1726 UM Microprint 20
04/24/1704-06/30/1707 UM F 67 H67
The Boston News-Letter 10/1757-03/1762 UM Microprint 20
The Boston News-Letter & the New Eng. Chronicle 1762-03/1763 UM Microprint 20
Boston Patriot 03/1809-03/1816 UM Microfilm A1036
Boston Patriot and Daily Chronicle 12/1817-06/1819 UM Microfilm A1036
Boston Patriot and Daily Mercantile Advertiser 07/1819-1820 UM Microfilm A1036
Boston Patriot and Morning Advertiser 03/1816-05/1817 UM Microfilm A1036
Boston Phoenix 1973-01/2011 UM Microfilm A955
[1970-1971, 1975-1985] UM Microfilm A265
Boston Pilot (1838) 1838-1857 Online: CRL
The Boston Post-Boy 06/1750-1754 UM Microprint 15
The Boston Post-Boy and Advertiser 05/1763-09/1769 UM Microprint 15
[1765, 1767] UM Microfilm 2332
[1765, 1767] Online: Mass. Historical Society
Boston Weekly Advertiser 08/1757-1758 UM Microprint 15
Boston Weekly News-Letter 10/29/1730-08/25/1757 UM Microprint 20
[1769] UM Microfilm 2332
[1769] Online: Mass. Historical Society
The Boston Wkly News-Letter & the Mass Gazette 05/26/1768-09/21/1769 UM Microprint 20
The Boston Weekly Post-Boy 04/1735-06/1750 UM Microprint 15
Broadside & The Free Press [1969-1970] UM Microfilm A265
The Censor 11/1771-05/1772 UM Microprint 1
1771-1772 UM Microfilm A82 Reel 8
Christian Science Monitor 1908-03/28/1925, 1983- UM Microfilm A23
Current issues Du Bois Library 5th Floor
01/02/1980- Online: Middle East Newsstand
1980- Online: ABI Inform Complete
1980- Online: LexisNexis Academic
1989- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
1995- Online: Academic Search Premier
Christian Science Monitor (Atlantic edition) 1925-10/22/1960 UM Microfilm A23
Christian Science Monitor (Central edition) 07/1955-08/1955 Online: CRL
Christian Science Monitor (Eastern edition) 1960-09/30/1983 UM Microfilm A23
The City Record and Boston News-Letter 11/1825 UM Microfilm A83 Reels 74, 914
Columbian Centinel 06/1790-10/1799 UM Microprint 6
09/1804-1820 UM Microprint 7
Columbian Centinel and Massachusetts Federalist 10/1799-09/1804 UM Microprint 6-7
The Congregationalist and Christian World 05/1901-1906 UM Microfilm A83 Reels 1919-1924
The Continental Journal and Weekly Advertiser 05/1776-06/1787 UM Microprint 19
[1776, 1778] UM Microfilm 2332
[1776, 1778] Online: Mass. Historical Society
Daily Evening Transcript 1848-1853 UM Microfilm A165
Federal Orrery 10/1794-1796 UM Microprint 2
Free Press Boston [07/1968-08/1968] UM Microfilm A265
Fusion [1968-1973] UM Microfilm A265
Gay Community News 01/26/1980-1999 Online: Alt-PressWatch, GenderWatch
01/26/1980-1999 Online: GenderWatch
GlobalPost 12/28/2009- Online: Middle East Newsstand
Green & Russell's Boston Post-Boy & Advertiser 1759-05/1763 UM Microprint 15
The Guardian 07/26/1902-10/22/1904 Online: CRL
08/25/1906-11/15/1913 Online: CRL
Herald of Freedom 09/1788-07/1791 UM Microprint 5
Herald Traveler 07/10/1967-06/18/1972 UM Microfilm A154
Hysteria [1970-1971] UM Microfilm 2337 Reel 2
Independent Chronicle 09/1776-10/1776 UM Microprint 8
12/1801-05/1817 UM Microprint 8-9
Independent Chronicle & Boston Patriot 06/1817-12/1817 UM Microfilm A1036
The Independent Ledger and American Advertiser 1-5  1778 UM Microprint 31
The Independent Ledger & The Am. Advertiser [1778-1786] UM Microprint 31
Jewish Advocate 08/22/1991- Online: Ethnic NewsWatch
The Liberator 1831-12/27/1834 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 391
01/03/1835-12/28/1838 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 392
01/04/1839-12/30/1842 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 393
01/06/1843-12/25/1846 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 394
1847-12/27/1850 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 395
01/03/1851-12/29/1854 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 396
01/05/1855-1858 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 397
01/07/1859-12/26/1862 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 398
01/02/1863-12/29/1865 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 399
1831-1865 Online: Accessible Archives
1833, 1847, 1849, 1856-1857 UM E 449 L678 Oversize
1859, 1862, 1864-1865 UM E 449 L678 Oversize
The Massachusetts Centinel 10/1784-06/1790 UM Microprint 6
The Massachusetts Centinel & The Republican J. 03/1784-10/1784 UM Microprint 6
The Massachusetts Gazette & Boston News-Letter 04/07/1763-05/19/1768 UM Microprint 20
[1765] UM Microfilm 2332
[1765] Online: Mass. Historical Society
Massachusetts Gaz. & Boston Wkly News-Letter [1770-1771, 1773-1774] UM Microfilm 2332
[1770-1771, 1773-1774] Online: Mass. Historical Society
The Mass. Gazette & The Boston Post-boy & Adv. 10/1769-04/1775 UM Microprint 20
[1769-1773] UM Microfilm 2332
[1769-1773] Online: Mass. Historical Society
Massachusetts Lawyers Weekly 2001- Online: LexisNexis Academic
2001- Online: LegalTrac
2001- Online: Massachusetts History Online
2005- Online: Regional Business News
2012- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
Massachusetts Spy 07/1770-10/1772 UM Microprint 1
The Massachusetts Spy or Thomas's Boston J. 10/1772-04/1775 UM Microprint 1
Medical News-Paper or The Dr. & the Physician 1822-02/1824 UM Microfilm A83 Reel 217
New England Chronicle 04/1776-09/1776 UM Microprint 8
[1776] UM Microfilm 2332
[04/1776-05/1776] Online: Mass. Historical Society
The New England Courant 08/1721-06/1726 UM Microprint 3
08/1721-09/09/1723 Online: Burney Collection
The New England Weekly Journal 03/1729-10/1741 UM Microprint 28
The Pilot 1858-1865 Online: CRL
Progressive Platter [1981-1985] UM Microfilm A265
Publick Occurrences 09/25/1690 UM F 67 H67
Record American 10/1961-06/17/1972 UM Microfilm A169
The Resistance [1968] UM Microfilm A265
Sunday Herald Advertiser 1973-10/17/1976 UM Microfilm A316
The Weekly News-Letter 01/05/1727-10/22/1730 UM Microprint 20
The Weekly Rehearsal 09/1731-08/1735 UM Microprint 3
Woman's Journal 01/06/1917-05/26/1917 UM Microfilm 6811a Reel 199
01/08/1870-10/12/1912 UM Microfilm 6811a Reels 184-198
1892-1893 UM Microfilm A306
Woman's Journal and Suffrage News 10/19/1912-12/30/1916 UM Microfilm 6811a Reels 198-199
Cambridge Community Press Service [1972-1973] UM Microfilm A265
Cultural Survival Voices 10/31/2001-Summer 2008 Online: Ethnic NewsWatch
Lavender Vision [1971 and undated] UM Microfilm 2337 Reel 2
El Mundo 03/26/1992-08/24/1994 Online: Ethnic NewsWatch
The New England Chronicle or The Essex Gazette 05/1775-04/1776 UM Microprint 16
[1775-1776] UM Microfilm 2332
[1775-1776] Online: Mass. Historical Society
The Old [1968-1971, 1981] UM Microfilm A265
The Real Pa [1973-1977] UM Microfilm A265
Sojourner 1999/2000-2002 UM Microfilm A1211
Top Secret [1969] UM Microfilm A265
Dorchester The Bay State Banner Current issues only Du Bois Library 5th Floor
Boston Haitian Reporter 04/30/2001-09/2013 Online: Ethnic NewsWatch
The Boston Irish Reporter 01/01/1994- Online: Ethnic NewsWatch
Easthampton Valley Advocate 1996- Online: Massachusetts NewsBank
Fall River Daily Evening News 1863-1881 UM Microfilm A254
Daily Globe 04/1885-10/1885 UM Microfilm A252
Fall River Daily Globe 1889-01/1894 UM Microfilm A252
Fall River Daily Herald 02/1877-06/1885, 04/1886-1893 UM Microfilm A253
Fall River News 04/1851-03/1865 UM Microfilm A255
Fall River Weekly News 04/1846-03/1851 UM Microfilm A255
 

Massachusetts Newspapers: Greenfield to Worcester

City Newspaper Name Holdings Location
Greenfield The Daily Recorder-Gazette 06/27/1932-01/04/1936 UM Microfilm A1203 Reels 61-76
Franklin Herald 01/1812-08/1822 UM Microfilm A1201 Reels 1-4
Franklin Herald and Public Advertiser 09/1822-06/1827 UM Microfilm A1206 Reels 5-6
The  Free Soil 1848 UM Microfilm A1173
1848 UM SCUA E 420 F8 1848 Oversize
Gazette and Courier 1841-07/1899 UM Microfilm A1202 Reels 5-23
Gazette and Mercury 1837-07/1841 UM Microfilm A1202 Reel 4
Greenfield Daily Recorder 1920-06/25/1932 UM Microfilm A1203 Reels 12-61
Greenfield Gazette 08/1792-02/1795 UM Microfilm A1200 Reel 1
1798-1811 UM Microfilm A1200 Reels 2-5
Greenfield Gazette and Franklin Herald 1827-06/1837 UM Microfilm A1202 Reels 1-3
Greenfield Gazette or Mass. & VT Telegraphe 03/1795-1797 UM Microfilm A1200 Reels 1-2
Greenfield Recorder 1900-1919 UM Microfilm A1203 Reels 1-11
11/19/1969-08/1985 UM Microfilm A1203 Reels 252-444
Current issues Du Bois Library 5th Floor
Greenfield Recorder-Gazette 01/06/1936-1966 UM Microfilm A1203 Reels 76-234
Greenfield Recorder Gazette and Courier 1967-11/18/1969 UM Microfilm A1203 Reels 234-252
The Impartial Intelligencer 02/1792-07/1792 UM Microfilm A1200 Reel 1
New Roots [1978-1982] UM Microfilm A265
1981-1982 Five College Depository
New Roots for the Northeast 1979-1981 Five College Depository
Recorder 1997- Online: Massachusetts NewsBank
The Recorder 09/1985-1999 UM Microfilm A1203 Reels 445-573
The Traveller 1811 UM Microfilm A1200 Reel 5
Hyannis Cape Cod Times 09/18/2002-11/05/2014 Online: Mass. History Online
Lawrence Preview [1982-1983] UM Microfilm A265
Montague Zig Zag 1967 undated issue UM Microfilm A265
New Bedford The CVN (Cape Verdean News) 01/15/1990-12/2010 Online: Ethnic NewsWatch
The CVN (Cape Verdean News) (1979-1989) 05/31/1979-12/31/1989 Online: Ethnic NewsWatch
Evening Standard 01/1893-11/1893 UM Microfilm A258
Newburyport The Current [1979-1981] UM Microfilm A265
North Adams The Advocate 2010-2014 Online: Massachusetts NewsBank
North Adams Transcript 2003-2014 Online: Massachusetts NewsBank
North Andover Eagle-Tribune 2008- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
Northampton Daily Hampshire Gazette 1890- UM Microfilm A669
Current issues Du Bois Library 5th Floor
1994- Online: Massachusetts NewsBank
1992- Online: ABI Inform Complete
The Hampshire Daily Herald 09/1883-12/1883, 07/1884-1885 UM Microfilm A747
Hampshire Gazette 01/04/1820-1917 UM Microfilm A668
The Hampshire Gazette 09/13/1786-07/19/1815 UM Microfilm A668
09/1786-1796 Online: Historic Northampton
Hampshire Gazette and Northampton Advertiser 07/26/1815 UM Microfilm A668
Hampshire Gazette and Publick Advertiser 08/02/1815-12/28/1819 UM Microfilm A668
Hampshire Herald 02/1845-08/1848 UM Microfilm A954
02/1845-01/1848 UM SCUA AP 2 H18 Oversize
Northampton Courier 1829-1831, 11/16/1831-10/26/1858 UM Microfilm A668a
Northampton Courier and Hampshire Sentinel 05/18/1831-11/09/1831 UM Microfilm A668a
Northampton Daily Herald 10/1885-04/11/1921 UM Microfilm A747
Pittsfield Berkshire County Eagle 1861-1863 UM Microfilm A1318
Berkshire Eagle 2003- Online: Massachusetts NewsBank
2008-2010 Online: Westlaw Campus Research
2004- Online: LexisNexis Academic
The Pittsfield Sun 08/09/1807-08/29/1807, 07/1813-1820 UM Microfilm A1026
The Pittsfield Sun or Republican Monitor 1806-08/1807 UM Microfilm A1026
Sun 09/1807-07/1813 UM Microfilm A1026
Quincy Patriot Ledger 1995- Online: LexisNexis Academic
Roxbury Bay State Banner 1965-1979 Online: Ethnic NewsWatch History
1992- Online: Ethnic NewsWatch
Le Chronic 04/03/1968 UM Microfilm A265
Salem The Essex Gazette 04/1768-05/1775 UM Microprint 16
[1775] UM Microfilm 2332
[04/1775-05/1775] Online: Mass. Historical Society
Massachusetts Gazette 11/28/1785-11/11/1788 UM Microprint 30
[1769, 1771] UM Microfilm 2332
[1769, 1771] Online: Mass. Historical Society
The Salem Evening News 2008- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
Salem Gazette 10/18/1782-11/22/1785 UM Microprint 30
The Salem Gazette 01/05/1790-12/29/1820 UM Microprint 41
The Salem Mercury 04/15/1788-12/29/1789 UM Microprint 41
The Salem Mercury: Polit., Commercial, & Moral 10/14/1786-04/08/1788 UM Microprint 41
Somerville Radical America [1980-1985] UM Microfilm A265
[1967-1992] UM HD 4802 R33 Per
[1975, 1983-1984, 1988-1989] UM SCUA Vega 166-169
Resist [1982-1985] UM Microfilm A265
Springfield BusinessWest 1989-1992, 1994/1995- UM Microfilm A1063
Current year Du Bois Library 5th Floor
Common Sense [1969] UM Microfilm A265
The Free Press of Springfield 12/1968 UM Microfilm A265
The Morning Union 10/21/1976-05/30/1987 UM Microfilm A161
New Unity [1972-1973, 1975, 1980-1981] UM Microfilm A265
The Republican 04/07/2003-10/2006 UM Microfilm A161
11/16/2008-08/15/2008, 09/2008- UM Microfilm A161
Current issues Du Bois Library 5th Floor
1988- Online: Massachusetts NewsBank
Springfield Advocate 1996-1998 Online: Massachusetts NewsBank
Springfield Daily News [1968-1975] UM Microfilm A672
Springfield Examiner 2011- Online: Massachusetts NewsBank
Springfield Republican 09/08/1824-01/03/1835 UM Microfilm A36
01/06/1838-12/26/1846 UM Microfilm A36
1877-08/1886, 1887-09/26/1946 UM Microfilm A36
1988- Online: Massachusetts NewsBank
1947-10/20/1976 UM Microfilm A161
Springfield Union 1947-10/20/1976 UM Microfilm A161
The Sunday Republican Current issues Du Bois Library 5th Floor
Union-News 06/1987-04/06/2003 UM Microfilm A161
Valley Advocate [1973-1977] UM Microfilm A265
Current issues Du Bois Library 5th Floor
Stockbridge Berkshire Star 11/30/1815-12/28/1820 UM Microprint 49
11/1815-1820 UM Microfilm A1049
Stow Wild Flowers 10/1968, 05/1969 UM Microfilm A265
Sudbury Reunion 07/31/1994-10/31/1996 Online: Ethnic NewsWatch
Wayland Tapestry 1985 undated issues UM Microfilm A265
Wellesley The Searcher 04/1968-05/1968 UM Microfilm A265
West Somerville Black Circles 06/1975 UM Microfilm A265
RT 02/1976-03/1976 UM Microfilm A265
Worcester The American Herald and the Worc. Recorder 08/21/1788-10/08/1789 UM Microprint 4
Haswell's Mass. Spy or Am. Oracle of Liberty 05/1778-06/1778 UM Microprint 1
The Mass. Spy or American Oracle of Liberty 05/1775-05/1778 UM Microprint 1
The Massachusetts Spy or Worcester Gazette 10/1810-02/1811 UM Microprint 1
National Aegis 12/02/1801-12/27/1814 UM Microfilm A1025
Thomas's Mass. Spy or Am. Oracle of Liberty 06/1778-05/1781 UM Microprint 1
Thomas's Mass. Spy or Worcester Gazette 04/1788-10/1810 UM Microprint 1
Thomas's Mass. Spy or The Worcester Gazette 05/1781-03/1786 UM Microprint 1
Vocero Hispano Latest 6 months Du Bois Library 5th Floor
The Worcester Magazine 1786-1788 UM Microprint 1
04/1786-03/1788 UM Microfilm A82 Reel 33
The Worcester Punch [1967-1969] UM Microfilm A265
© 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip