Skip to main content

Environmental Conservation

Finding information for your ECo papers

For science-based topics for Environmental Conservation research, explore these pages

For policy topics, use the research guide on Public Policy & Administration, and talk to a librarian for that area.

For regional planning topics, contact Madeleine Charney and see the Landscape Architecture and Regional Planning guide.

For a business focus, see the Business guide.

Looking at popular magazines to scaffold information

When starting a research project, it is sometimes helpful to search popular magazines to scaffold information and learn the level of information communicated to a public audience.

The database Academic Search Premier is the ONLY database that will let you search specifically for magazine and trade publications.

Quick List of Databases for Environmental Conservation

Research databases help you find journal articles and many other types of publications. The best database to use is determined by your research topic. Consult Madeleine or Paulina for help!

Off-campus, log in with your UMass Amherst NetID

The databases listed are in ALPHABETICAL order, not in order of importance to your topic.

Using a citation manager to keep track of your research information

                             

Refworks is a tool that can be used to keep your citations and create a bibliography in many citation or journal styles.

Login at http://refworks.proquest.com

Refworks Resource Guide http://proquest.libguides.com/newrefworks/welcome

Doing a group project?  Share folders in Refworks to make group work easier.

Use the Refworks Write-N-Cite plug-in to write your paper, insert references, and create a bibliography at the end of the paper.