This is the "Home" page of the "Architecture & Design" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Architecture & Design  

Last Updated: Jan 24, 2013 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page


Design toolsFallingwaterFrank Gehry buildingRem Koollhaas China building

Library Research page for architecture and design.

This guide is intended to help you with your library research in art, art history, architecture, and design. You can access our full-text and article arts databases, or search for a good reference source (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.) to help you in your research.

Need some historical or literary context? The Library subscribes to a large number of humanities databases in history, literature, and the classics.

Looking for images? We have an image library, as well as subscriptions to several image databases. Still not enough? Here is a list of "free" web sources for art images.

Fine Arts Departments at UMass:

Architecture + Design

Above all, don't hesitate to contact me to request a reference consulation, a bibliographic instruction session at the library for your class, or to suggest purchasing books or other materials to add to our collection.


Architecture databases (UMass access only)

Art Abstracts
An index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1984-present.

Art Index Retrospective
An index to articles and reproductions of works of art in art-related magazines, journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, 1929-1984.

ARTbibliographies Modern
Journal articles, books, chapters, exhibition catalogs and dissertations on modern art from the Impressionists to the present.

Bibliography of the History of Art
Articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition and dealer's catalogs on European and American art and art history, 1973-present.

Grove Dictionary of Art
The best scholarly dictionary for all aspects of fine and applied arts, including design and architecture. Current.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Articles on architecture, planning, landscape architecture, interior design, and historic preservation, from journals published worldwide. Date coverage varies by title; some 1912-present.

Index to design journals, biographies of designers, and full text of early 20th c. art magazines.

BuildingGreen Suite
Research and articles on the green building movement.

Digital Sanborn Maps
Very detailed maps of New England towns and cities as they were in the 19th and early 20th centuries. There are several versions over time of most maps, 1867-1970.

Scholarly journal and magazine articles on the environment and sustainability in building, agriculture and energy, 1973-current.

Engineering Village
Comprehensive access to engineering journal articles, conference papers, and web sites, 1884-present.

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Homes Through World History
Covers the history of homes from ancient times to the late Middle Ages, the Renaissance to the Industrial Revolution, and the Post-Industrial Revolution to the present.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Dr. Peter Stern
Contact Info
Reference Department
Du Bois Library
Send Email


Refworks logo


RefWorks is a bibliographical management software which will help you organize your citations, articles, books, etc. paid for by the UMass Amherst Library, that the UMass Amherst community can access from the Library website. RefWorks collects, stores, and organizes citations from books, articles from databases, web sites, and other sources. RefWorks automatically converts citations into properly formatted bibliographies

Better than using 3"x5' index cards!


Index cards

© 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.

Loading  Loading...