Local Events

Sustainability  Tags: community sustainability permaculture economics energy government practical-skills  

Growing healthier communities based on sustainable energy use, agricultural production, building design, and economic development.
Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/sustainability  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Librarian Update

November 2009

Join the new UMass Sustainability Listserv:
A network of individuals actively discussing the support and advancement of sustainability at UMass Amherst. Topics may include (but are not limited to) sustainability at UMass as it pertains to: energy use; building design; waste management; access to healthful foods; educational opportunities; curriculum building; resource sharing; and creating/revising policies and procedures.

GreenFile
Check out this new library database covering scholarly journal and magazine articles on the environment and sustainability in building, agriculture and energy, 1973-current.

Study Abroad in an Ecovillage - Earn UMass credits
Find out more about Living Routes sustainable communities program. See an example of an ecovillage program.

  title="Wordle: sustainable umass">   src="http://www.wordle.net/thumb/wrdl/1325369/sustainable_umass"
  alt="Wordle: sustainable umass"
  style="padding:4px;border:1px solid #ddd">

 
 

What is Sustainability?

Sustainabilility is development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.

(World Commission on Environment and Development, 1987)

From The Dictionary of Sustainable Management

 

Organize Citations/Create Bibliographies

RefWorks User Login
for
University of Massachusetts, Amherst

New to RefWorks?
   Sign up for an Individual Account

   Log-in Name
   
   Password
   
   Forgot your log-in?

   Athens users
   Login through your institution (Shibboleth users)

Not your Organization?
   Login using your Group Code

1. Set up your account by clicking on the RefWorks link on the library homepage. From the RefWorks info page, choose "RefWorks Login & New Account Set up." From the login page, choose "New to RefWorks? - Sign up for an Individual Account." Note: You get to choose your own username and password - make them easy to remember!

2. Get your journal article citations into RefWorks
Most databases have a way to export citations into RefWorks directly. If you can't find the export link after you run a search, see instructions for the specific databases.

3. Get your book citations into RefWorks
Books from the UMass Catalog

  1. Within RefWorks, go to the search menu on the left side top and choose "Online Catalog or database"
  2. In the next screen, under "Online Catalog or Database to Search" choose "University of Massachusetts Amherst." If you have a specific title or author, go to the advanced search at the bottom and run your search.
  3. Your results will appear in a separate window or tab. choose the title(s) you want to import to your RefWorks account and click on "Import."

Books from WorldCat (combined U.S. library catalogs)

Using the Library's WorldCat subscription:

  1. Go the Database page and select WorldCat (under "W")
  2. Conduct a search.
  3. Mark the record(s) you wish to export.
  4. Click the "Export" button.
  5. Click the Radio button next to "Export to: RefWorks."
  6. Log into RefWorks.

When export from the Library's WorldCat subscription is not working, use Open WorldCat to export to RefWorks:

  1. Go to www.worldcat.org
  2. Conduct a search.
  3. Click “Export to RefWorks” in the “Subjects” line at the bottom of the gray box.
  4. Log into RefWorks.

If you need more help or info on RefWorks, check out the FAQs.

 

Sustainability Librarian

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait