Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMass Amherst Libraries

Environmental Science and Conservation

UMass Libraries Fall 2021

          

Need to make a quick citation? Use an on-the-fly citation generator. Just be sure to check the accuracy!

Using a citation manager

Sometimes you need to create a citation on the fly, while other times, your writing will be more complicated and involve citing several items and keeping track of sources.  For this type of work, use a citation manager.

To decide which citation manager to use:  https://guides.library.umass.edu/CitationManagers

The Libraries offers workshops on the different citation managers:  https://www.library.umass.edu/events

Getting started with Zotero

Zotero - a tool to organize your research citations, papers, and ideas:  https://www.zotero.org/

CREATE AN ACCOUNT:  https://www.zotero.org/user/register

Resources for writing

Understanding your audience

To create a compelling story, you might want to investigate these three types of sources:

  1. Popular Magazines to get a view into what the public is reading; use the database Academic Search Premier
  2. Peer-reviewed scholarly research articles
  3. Government information for statistics and legislation; CRS reports are particularly helpful

Looking at popular magazines to scaffold information

When starting a research project, it is sometimes helpful to search popular magazines to scaffold information and learn the level of information communicated to a public audience.

The database Academic Search Premier is the ONLY database that will let you search specifically for magazine and trade publications.

Quick List of Databases for Environmental Conservation

Research databases help you find journal articles and many other types of publications. The best database to use is determined by your research topic. Consult Madeleine or Paulina for help!

Off-campus, log in with your UMass Amherst NetID

The databases listed are in ALPHABETICAL order, not in order of importance to your topic.

Newspapers

Finding and accessing newspaper articles and stores can be tricky. 

Use this guide made to help with the searching by state, city, decade, or historical event.

Or search by Newspaper subscription. 

Press Reader provides access to a wide selection of magazines and newspapers. 

CRS Reports

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is the non-partisan public policy research arm of the United States Congress.

CRS experts prepare reports to assist members of Congress throughout the legislative process providing background information and data on public policy issues.

Research "controversial" topics