JYW: Writing in Engineering
This is the "Home" page of the "Electrical & Computer Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Electrical & Computer Engineering  

Last Updated: Oct 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.umass.edu/ece Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page


Electricity consumption per country in million kWh, from CIA factbook, accessed April 2006.



Log In

RefWorks User Login
University of Massachusetts, Amherst

New to RefWorks?
Sign up for an Individual Account

Current Users
Login to your RefWorks Account

Researching away from UMass?
Login using your Group Code


Specialized Engineering Databases

ACM Digital Library - The journals of the Association for Computing Machinery, and its conference proceedings, with some works published by affiliated organizations, 1947-present.

DOE Information Bridge - Open access reports and documents from US Dept. of Energy research and development in science, energy and technology, 1991-present.

Engineering Village - Comprehensive access to engineering journal articles, conference papers, and web sites, 1884-present.

IEEE Explore - All IEEE journals (including Spectrum), standards, transactions, and major conference proceeding since 1988, plus some content since 1952, to present.

Inspec - Comprehensive index of articles and other scholarly work on electrical engineering: electronics, control engineering, telecom, computing, IT, etc., 1898-present.

MathSciNet - An index of the scholarly literature of the mathematical sciences, 1940-present.

Scitation - The journals of six key physics and engineering societies, 1893-present.

SPIE Digital Library - Six key optics and photonics journals, plus conference proceedings, 1990-present.

Synthesis Digital library of Engineering and Computer Science - Current, in-depth, peer-reviewed reports of important research or development topics by leading experts in engineering and computer science.


General Science Databases

Don't know where to find journal articles?  Try these databases:

Web of Science  Provides a search by cited reference, topic, author, and more for articles in almost all important English-language journals. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1956-present; and Science 1900-present.  Works poorly with Safari.

Science Direct  Full-text scholarly journals from the sciences, including the social sciences, published within the last five years, 1998-present.

Accessing databases from off-campus requires that you log-in with your IT username and password.



Safari Books Online - Highly regarded tech and business books. Read online or print one page at a time.

Siam ebooks - About 400 scholarly and applied e-books published by the Society, on the mathematics of many disciplines.

Springer eBooks - Full text books and journal articles from science publisher Springer, mainly in English, 2005-8.  Some soft cover editions of books are available through MyCopy service for $24.95 (including shipping and handling).



Need help?  Make an appointment for a research consultation or schedule an instruction class for your students.


Online Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics Engineering

The ideal starting point for research projects, whether addressing basic questions in power systems and communications, or learning advanced applications in neural networks and robotics.

© 2016 University of Massachusetts Amherst.

Loading  Loading...