Electrical & Computer Engineering
Key Databases
Articles often contain new data/information (primary articles) or summarize the current state of the field (review articles). They are typically written for expert audiences and assume a certain degree of technical expertise. The databases that index these articles can vary in terms of their specificity. See below for some examples of databases relevant for Electrical and Computer Engineering.
General Science
These databases will contain articles spanning a broad range of scientific fields.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is an indexing and abstracting database of peer-reviewed scholarly content covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities, comparable to the Web of Science. Scopus allows for the discovery, tracking, and analysis of scholarship that includes: journal articles, conference proceedings, trade magazines, book series, books and book chapters, and patents.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIndex to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.
Electrical and Computer Engineering
These databases will focus in more specifically on electrical/computer engineering fields.
-
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowAll IEEE journals (including Spectrum), standards, transactions, and major conference proceedings since 1988, plus some content since 1952, to present.
-
Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowComprehensive access to engineering journal articles, conference papers, and web sites, 1884-present.
-
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowJournals of the Association for Computing Machinery, its conference proceedings, magazines, technical reports, and more, 1954-present. Includes some works published by affiliated organizations. Covers the fields of computing and information technology.
-
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new windowOptics and photonics applied research information from eBooks, journals, and conference proceedings, 1989-present.
-
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed, expert reports on research and development topics in engineering and computer science; includes access to Complete Collections One, Two, Three, and Four.
Finding Full Text
Citation databases do not always provide access to the full text of the articles they index. Try these steps to locate full text:
- Look for links (HTML, PDF) or click
to see full text options - Check that the Libraries subscribe to the journal by searching the Publication Finder for the journal title
- Request an electronic copy of an article unavailable online through UMass via Interlibrary Loan
Open Access Preprints and Publications
Preprints are a form of academic journal article that have NOT yet been peer-reviewed. Preprints are often used to get new ideas/data out into the academic world more rapidly. As such, they can be useful in highlighting potential burgeoning areas of research. However, it is important to note that the final article may undergo some revision after peer-review (assuming it is to be formally published in a traditional journal).
-
arXivarXiv is a preprint database that covers a variety of mathematical and engineering fields, including electrical/computer engineering.
-
engrXivengrXiv is a preprint database covering all fields of engineering.
-
techRxivtechRxiv (IEEE) is a preprint database focused on computer engineering and related technology.
