Spanish & Portuguese Research Guide

Electronic Resources

Databases at UMass

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920s -
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Teatro Espanol del Siglo de Oro
full text database contains the most important dramatic works of sixteenth and seventeenth century Spain, published here in full (never before published on the World Wide Web). Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro contains more than 800 plays written by 16 dramatists including Lope de Vega, Calderón de la Barca, Agustín Moreto etc.

Linguistics Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for articles in the scholarly journals of linguistics, 1985-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains both early and modern critical interpretations of the greatest writers of the late Middle Ages, the Renaissance and the Restoration. Part of Literature Criticism Online.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographies and substantial excerpts from critical responses over time, on the works of a huge number of authors from classical time to the present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals on Latin America & the Caribbean, the US-Mexico border area, and U.S. Latinos, 1970-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publications, with images, of the US Hispanic community from earliest times to the 1990's.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Citations to works published internationally on Latin America, produced by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, 1936-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Informe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from 140 Spanish-language magazines and journals, 1987-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Abstracts Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, many in full text, and citations to books and dissertations on world history from 1450, published 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Academic OneFile
- This link opens in a new window
A large interdisciplinary collection of scholarly, professional and trade journal articles, 1980-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

(The following database links are broken and we re investigating restoring access.)

Literature Resource Center
A large collection of literature reference material, including criticism and author biographies.

ClasePeriodica
Indexes thousands of Latin American science, social science and humanities journals. Articles in Spanish, Portuguese, French, English, 1975-present.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance
A bibliography of scholarly publications on the Middle Ages and Renaissance; the ITER Italia manuscript catalog; and three journals. Covers the period 400-1700; citations date back to 1784.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History & Culture
Second edition of modern encyclopedia on Latin America

Free e-resources

Biblioteca Virtual Cervantes
A project inaugurated in 1999 to make the bibliographic, historical, and documentary patrimony of the Latin American and Hispanic worlds widely available online. Contains thousands of full-text books, documents, and criticism online.

Romanische Bibliographie
Online access to German-produced bibliography on Romance languages & literatures.

Digitized Spanish-language journals from the Hemeroteca Nacional, BNE
Free access to digitzed magazines from Spain and Latin America.

Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature (Iberian Studies)
A mega-gateway from the Western European Studies Section of ACRL (Association of College & Research Libraries), with links to electronic literature collections in Western European languages.

Biblioteca Digital Hispánica
"La Biblioteca Digital Hispánica (BDH) es un recurso en línea de la Biblioteca Nacional de España, que proporciona acceso libre y gratuito a miles de documentos digitalizados.

Dicionario biográfico español
Database of persons maintained by the Real Academia de la Historia.

Hispana
"Provides access to over 100 digital collections of archives, libraries, and museums in Spain. Includes a directory of +500 digital projects created by both public and private institutions in Spain. Hispania is coordinated by the Ministry of Culture, Spain."

Dialnet
"Dialnet es un portal de difusión de la producción científica hispana.Es necesario registrarse para suscribirse a los servicios de alerta y acceder a otras opciones personalizadas." Dialnet's home page says it has 5,520 journals and over 2 million documents. Individual registration is required. The interface is available in many other langauges besdies Spanish, including English.

Compludoc
Compludoc indexes over 4,000 journals analyzed at the library of the Universidad Complutense de Madrid. Citations include author, article title, journal title, year of publication, volume and number.

Real Academia Española
Includes the online dictionary of the Real Academia Española, the "official" arbiter of the Castillian language, as well as the Corpus de Referencia del Español Actual (CREA) and the Corpus Diacrónico del Español (CORDE).

Dicionario biográfico español
Database of persons maintained by the Real Academia de la Historia.

Corpus de Español
This website allows you to quickly and easily search more than 100 million words in more than 20,000 Spanish texts from the 1200s to the 1900s.

Teatro del Siglo de Oro
Full-text works from the Spanish Golden Age, digitized by the Biblioteca Nacional in Madrid.

Iberian Studies Web
Colelction of online resources on Iberia assembled by the Western European Studies Section of the Association of College & Research Libraries

Out of the Wings: Spanish & Spanish American Theatres in Translation
Database of translations of classic Spanish & Latin American plays..

Basque Database
"The database provides access to information about Basque topics written or produced after 1994. Core journals are indexed completely while other journal articles appear in the database when they fit the scope of the database. Formats included are articles, books, chapters of edited books, dissertations, and other publications. Also included are Basque-related videos and DVDs, musical recordings, maps, and other media. The database currently contains more than 18,000 records."

Traces: Un portal de literature catalana
Bibliographic database on Catalan language and literature; housed at the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona.

Biblioteca Virtual del Principado de Asturias
"La Biblioteca Virtual del Principado de Asturias es un nuevo paso de un amplio proyecto de accesibilidad digital de las colecciones bibliográficas históricas de Asturias, y se encuentra en la línea de la actuación del Ministerio de Cultura para promover la creación de repositorios y recursos digitales, de forma normalizada, con el objetivo de facilitar el acceso común al Patrimonio Bibliográfico Español."

Center for Research Libraries
Catalog of over four million newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, and government publications, with an emphasis on non-U.S. materials. Use interlibrary loan to request items.

More open-access resources

Other open-access resources can be found on the Latin American Studies Research Guide page.