Skip to main content
UMass Amherst Libraries

Spanish & Portuguese Research Guide

Dictionaries

All materials are in the Reference Area, Main Floor

Diccionario crítico etimológico de la lengua castellana
REF PC4580.C6

Real Academia Española. Diccionario de la lengua española
REF PC3625.R4 1984+

Diccionario panhispánico de dudas
REF PC4460.D5155 2005

Diccionario medieval español
REF PC4715.Z5 A465 1986

Diccionari de la llengua catalana
REF PC3889.D49 1982

The big red book of Spanish verbs: 555 fully conjugated verbs
REF PC4271.G65

Diccionario general de americanismos
REF PC4822.S3

Dicionário da língua portuguesa contemporânea da Academia das Ciências da Lisboa
REF PC5327.D535 2001

Grande dicionário da língua portuguesa
REF PC5327.F5 1996  

Grande dicionário da língua portuguesa
REF  PC5327  .G73 1991    

Online:

Real Academia Española

Diccionario etimológico de la lengua castellana (1856)

 

 

Reference Sources

All print reference materials will be found in the Reference Area, Main Floor.

Spain

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture. REF DP233.5.E63 1999

Historical Dictionary of Modern Spain, 1710-1988. REF DP192.H57 1990

Historical dictionary of the Spanish Civil War, 1936-1939 REF DP269 .H54

Historical Dictionary of the Spanish Empire, 1412-1975 REF DP56.H57 1992

Medieval Iberia: An Encyclopedia. REF DP99 .M33 2003

Contemporary Spain: A Handbook. New York: REF DP26 .R66 2002

Spain. World bibliographical series, v. 60. REF DP17.Z99S54 1994

Historical dictionary of Spain REF DP12 .S59 1996

Spain, a country study. REF DP17.S67 1990
Online version: http://memory.loc.gov/frd/cs/estoc.html

Spanish Culture and Society: the Essential Glossary. REF DP233.5 .S73 2002

Culture and customs of Spain. REF DP48 .S678 2002

A dictionary of contemporary Spain. REF DP12 .T78 1998

Cultural atlas of Spain and Portugal. REF DP17.V56 1994

Portugal

Area handbook for Portugal. REF DP517.K43

Dicionário de História de Portugal. 9v. REF DP535.D5 1981

Dicionário Enciclopédico da História de Portugal. 2v. REF DP535.D522 1993

História de Portugal. 8v. REF DP538.H57 1993

Portugal. World bibliographical series; v. 71. REF Z2711 .U59 1987

Historical dictionary of Portugal. REF DP535.W44 1993

Portugal: A Country Study .REF. DP517.P626 1994
Online version: http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/pttoc.html

General & Thematic Reference Works on Spanish and Portuguese Literature

Diccionario de literatura española REF PQ6006.D5 1972

Diccionario de literatura española e hispanoamericana. 2v. REF PQ6006.D54 1993

Manual de literatura española. 14v . REF PQ6032.P4

Enciclopedia de la novela española. REF PQ6138.M67 1999

Enciclopedia de escritores en lengua castellana. REF PQ6051.N38 2000

Dictionary of Spanish Literature. REF PQ6006.N55

The Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature. REF PQ6000.O9. (Spanish-language edition at PQ6006.O918 1984)

Catáologo de dramaturgos españoles del siglo xix. REF PQ6113.R63 1994

Spanish Dramatists of the Golden Age: A Bio-Bibliographical Sourcebook. REF PQ6051.S63 1998

Spanish Women Writers: A Bio-Bibliographical Source Book. REF PQ6055.S63 1993

Umbral, Francisco. Diccionario de literatura: Espana, 1941-1995, de la posguerra la posmodernidad. REF PQ6072.U62 1995

General & Thematic Works—Latin American Literature

A Bibliographical Guide to Spanish American Literature: Twentieth-Century Sources. REF Z1609.L7R438

The Cambridge history of Latin American Literature. 3v. REF PQ7081.A1C35

Diccionario de literatura espanola e hispanoamericana. 2v. REF PQ6006.D54

Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature. REF PQ7081.A1E56 1997

Handbook of Latin American Literature. REF PQ7081.A1H36

Hispanic Literature Criticism. 2v. REF PQ7081.A1H573

Latin American Writers. 3v. REF PQ7081.A1L37

Essays on authors, bibliographies

Modern Latin American Literature. 2v. REF PQ7081.F63

Spanish American Authors: The Twentieth Century. REF PQ7081.3F57 1992

Spanish American Women Writers: a Bio-Bibliographical Source Book. REF Z1609.L7S6

Spanish Women Writers: a Bio-Bibliographical Source Book. REF PQ6055.S63 1993

Dicionário crítico de escritoras brasileras. REF PQ9006.C64 2002

Dicionario de literatura: literatura portuguesa, literatura brasileira, literatura galega, estilistica literaria. 5v. REF PQ9006.D63 1989

Dictionary of Brazilian Literature. REF PQ9506.D53 1988

Enciclopedia de literatura brasileira. 2v. REF PQ9506 .E53 1990

Portuguese Language and Luso-Brazilian Literature: an Annotated Guide to Selected Reference Works. REF .Z2725.A2C45 1989

Biblos Enciclopédia VERBO das literaturas de língua portuguesa. 5v. REF PQ9006.B53 1995

Country-specific Resources in Spanish America

Diccionario de la literatura ecuatoriana. 2a ed., corr. y aum. 5v. REF PQ8201.B53

Diccionario de literatura hispanoamericana: autores.. REF Z1607.B43 1984

Diccionario de literatura uruguaya. REF PQ8510.A52D53

Dictionary of Mexican Literature REF PQ7106.D53

Fenwick, M. J. Writers of the Caribbean and Central America: a Bibliography. REF Z1595.F46

Puerto Rican Authors: a Biobibliographic Handbook. REF Z1556.H55

Instituto de Literatura y Linguistica de la Academia de Ciencias de Cuba. Diccionario de la literatura cubana. 2v.REF PQ7371.D5

Manual de literatura peruana. REF PQ8306.R6

Diccionario de literatura puertorriqueña. REF PQ7421 .R48

Diccionario de la literatura chilena. REF PQ7927.S9