Polymer Science & Engineering
eBooks
Photoactive Functional Soft Materials by Call Number: eBookISBN: 3527816771Publication Date: 2018-11-19Covers the design, synthesis, properties, and applications of functional photoactive soft materials, including aspects of polymers, block copolymers, elastomers, biomaterials, liquid crystals, chemical and physical gels, colloids, and host-guest systems.
Plastics Technology Handbook by Call Number: eBook / TA455.P5 .C436 2018ISBN: 9781498786225Publication Date: 2017-11-07Updated throughout to reflect advances over the last decade, the Fifth Edition continues the handbook's tradition of authoritative coverage of fundamentals, production methods, properties, and applications of plastics and polymer-based materials. It covers tooling for plastics fabrication processes, thermoplastics, thermosetting plastics, foamed plastics, reinforced plastics, plastisols, and new developments in mold design. It also discusses rubber compounding and processing technologies. More recent developments in polymer fabrication and processing, including electrospinning, electrografted coating, polymer-metal hybrid joining, flex printing, and rapid prototyping/ 3D printing, are also presented. The handbook highlights advanced materials including natural and synthetic gfnanosize polymers, their unusual properties, and innovative applications, as well as polymer-carbon nanocomposites, graphene-based polymer nanocomposites, smart healable polymer composites, smart polymer coatings, electroactive polymers, polymer nanomaterials, and novel nano-/microfibrillar polymer composites. It offers updates on polymer solar battery development, plastics recycling and disposal methods, new concepts of "upcycling" and single-polymer composites, renewable synthetic polymers, biodegradable plastics and composites, and toxicity of plastics. The book also provides an overview of new developments in polymer applications in various fields including packaging, building and construction, corrosion prevention and control, automotive, aerospace applications, electrical and electronic applications, agriculture and horticulture, domestic appliances and business machines, medical and biomedical applications, marine and offshore applications, and sports.
Librarian
Books and Theses
Find books available through the UMass Amherst Libraries with Discovery search.
Refine results by format to books and eBooks.
Find & borrow books owned by other libraries in WorldCat https://www.worldcat.org/advancedsearch
Find UMass theses and dissertations at Scholarworks, the UMass Amhserst digital repository.
Find theses and dissertations published worldwide using these databases:
- Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
US and Canadian dissertations and theses from 1861 to present. Mostly full-text 1997 to present. - Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) This link opens in a new windowIndexes of over 3.5 million graduate-level electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) that are freely available online.
- EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new windowOpenDissertations.org includes records from the British Library’s EThOS Service, the University of Florida, the University of Michigan, Michigan State University, University of North Texas, and the University of Kentucky.
- Theses Canada This link opens in a new windowFull-text Canadian theses and dissertations in the Library and Archives Canada collection
- China/Asia On Demand (CAOD) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nearly all journals in China, with coverage across all regions of Asia, including articles, theses, dissertations, patents and conference proceedings.
Library of Congress Call Numbers for books in Polymer Science
Find Library Materials by Call Number
The Library Catalog provides a call number and location for each item. The call number consists of an alphanumeric string based on the Library of Congress classification system. View an example of how to read a call number. Materials on Chemistry reside primarily in the QD call number area. Specific topics follow.
QC 176 - Solid state physics / Condensed matter physics
QD 380-388 - Polymer chemistry
QD 965 - Crystallography
TA 401-409 - General materials science
TA 410-418 - "Special" materials, including composites, nanomaterials. etc.
TA 459-489 - Metals and alloys
TK 7871 - Electronic materials
TN 600-799 - Metallurgy
TN 690 - Alloy phase diagrams
TP 1087-1190 - Plastics and polymer engineering
Handbooks & Encyclopedias
Handbooks are a good source of data.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online version of the 100th edition of this indispensable reference for chemical and physical data.
Covers topics including: Basic Constants; Nomenclature; Thermochemistry, Electrochemistry, and Solution Chemistry; Organic Chemistry; Inorganic Chemistry; Analytical Chemistry; Molecular Structure and Spectroscopy; Properties of Solids; Geophysics, Astronomy, and Acoustics; Health and Safety Information; Mathematical Tables; and more.
Encyclopedias provide a great source of background information on a topic. They can also help you find topics of interest.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all major scientific disciplines and offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers. - Kirk Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley comprehensive reference guide with articles on topics in chemistry and chemical engineering; searchable by article keyword (topic) or article title. - Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley comprehensive reference guide with articles on topics in the science and technology of industrial chemistry; searchable by article keyword (topic) or article title. Current. - Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Second edition of this comprehensive Elsevier reference work. - Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley reference guide searchable by article keyword (topic) or article title. - Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics Engineering This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley reference encyclopedia - searchable by article keyword (topic) or title. - Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley reference guide searchable by article keyword (topic) or title.
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Engineering by Call Number: TP1087.E46 1985ISBN: 0471895407Publication Date: 1985-01-18
CRS Reports / Congressional Research Service
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is the non-partisan public policy research arm of the United States Congress.
CRS experts prepare reports to assist members of Congress throughout the legislative process providing background information and data on public policy issues.
- ProQuest Legislative and Executive Publications This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Hearings, bills, laws and legislative histories, committee prints, Congressional Research Service reports, Congressional Record and predecessors, Executive Branch docs to 1939, and the Serial Set.
