MARKETNG 499 J/K Honors Case Study & Internship

Resources for Marketing Research

Key Library Databases

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US Industry reports - current analysis of every US industry. Report chapters: Industry at a Glance, Performance, Outlook, Products & Markets, Competitive Landscape, Major Companies, Operating Conditions, Key Statistics.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1,000+ current consumer market reports - analyze consumer market drivers, market size, segmentation, consumer characteristics, supply structure, advertising, promotion, retail distribution. SECTORS: Automotive, beauty, fashion, financial services, food & drink, food service, health & wellness, household, leisure, entertainment, travel, tourism.
Mintel no longer allows full PDF downloads of reports. Customized PPT downloads are still available and all of the same data and insights. Proxy users will need to create a profile to download.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Insider Intelligence This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Market analysis and data with a focus on the Internet, digital marketing/advertising, mobile communication, e-commerce, social media, and emerging technologies. Insider Intelligence is useful for understanding trends, user demographics, consumer behavior, and the growth and impact of digital technologies.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
GlobalData Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides data on U.S. and foreign companies and 20+ industry sectors, SWOT analyses, global trends, product launches, social media analytics, case studies, market research and insights reports.

To access, open the link, then click on the button "IP Access" on the GlobalData login page.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type: Market research reports. Description: BCC reports analyze the industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology marketplace. Industry focus: life sciences, advanced materials, manufacturing, chemical, engineering.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed journal literature in psychology, behavioral science and mental health - 2,500 journal titles indexed - 2.8 million records - 1887 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Journals & Articles

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type: Business journal articles. Description: ABI/INFORM is the library's largest online full-text business journal collection. 3,000 business periodicals - peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, business magazines, 1960 - present, including the Wall Street Journal, 1984 - present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Steps to access Wall Street Journal articles in ABI/Inform Complete database:

Click on the link above for the database ABI/Inform Complete. You must access this database via the library's subscription, otherwise you might encounter paywalls or blocked access. You can use the link in this guide, connect via other LibGuides, or from the Library's homepage: click on the Find & Borrow tab, then click Databases A-Z.
You may be prompted to enter your UMass Net ID and password.
Click the in the top left corner of the page and choose Publications.
Type Wall Street Journal in the search box and click Search.
Choose the first title in the results, Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition; New York, N.Y.

The coverage of this publication is for full-text articles from 1984 to present (including today's paper). When you click on the title, you are brought to a list of the current issue's contents. You can search within the publication using the search box and keywords of your choice to filter results.

Other databases of note for periodicals & journals:

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content Type: Business journal articles, company reports. Description: Peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, and business magazines. Company SWOT reports. Includes the Harvard Business Review, Volume 1 (1922) to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News, business and legal sources
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text business news from 110 US and Canadian regional business publications. Coverage of all metro and regional markets - from 1990 to present. Use this resource to locate hard-to-find local and regional business news.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.