Libraries Ask Us

Sociology 291L: An Introduction to Latin American Societies

ONLINE LIBRARY CATALOGS & RESOURCES

Five College Catalog
Find books, journals, and media collections held by UMass Libraries and the Five Colleges.
UMass-WorldCat
Combines UMass catalog, WorldCat, & selected article databases.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The combined catalogs of most U.S. libraries.
Content is freely available for use by all.

Free, public WorldCat
Same database, but open access. Cannot be used for Interlibrary Loan.
UMass Interlibrary Loan
Latin American Studies Library Resource Guide

Selected print reference works

All materials are located in the Reference Collection, Main Floor of the Du Bois Library.

Dictionary of Afro-Latin American Civilization F1408.3.N86

Pop Culture in Latin America: Media, Arts & Lifestyle F1414.2.S495 2005

Culture and Customs of Haiti F1916.D37 2001

The Peoples of the Caribbean F1619.S38 2005

Encyclopedia of Cuba--People, History, Culture F1754.E53 2003 2v.

Enciclopedia dominicana F1932.E52 1999

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life GN333.W67 1998 4v.

La gran enciclopedia de Puerto Rico F1954 .G72 14v. (In the library stacks)

Nueva enciclopedia de Puerto Rico F1954 .T67 1996 4v. (In the library stacks)

Article databases

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals on Latin America & the Caribbean, the US-Mexico border area, and U.S. Latinos, 1970-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Abstracts Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, many in full text, and citations to books and dissertations on world history from 1450, published 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Citations to works published internationally on Latin America, produced by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, 1936-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Latin American Weekly Report This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News and analysis of current conditions in Latin America. Current
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Informe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from 140 Spanish-language magazines and journals, 1987-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews, many in full text, relating to United States and Canadian history and prehistory, 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Academic OneFile
- This link opens in a new window
A large interdisciplinary collection of scholarly, professional and trade journal articles, 1980-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

ONLINE REFERENCE SOURCES

Europa World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia and directory of the world's countries. Substantive coverage of government, demographics, history, and much more. Current.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

RefWorks

RefWorks is a bibliographical management software which will help you organize your citations, articles, books, etc. paid for by the UMass Amherst Library, that the UMass Amherst community can access from the Library website. RefWorks collects, stores, and organizes citations from books, articles from databases, web sites, and other sources. RefWorks automatically converts citations into properly formatted bibliographies

Better than using 3"x5' index cards!