Libraries Ask Us

HONORS 260H Science informed Public Policy - Lisa Troy

Library resources for your annotated bibliography and Public Policy-related paper (course formerly known as SRVCLRNG 293H and HONORS 297EH)

Suggested Databases

Discovery Search This link opens in a new window
Find articles across a large number of library resources with just one search! Begin your generalized research here.
Free to use for anyone to find records. Some results, and detailed information such as PDFs and full text links, are available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education journal articles (EJ references) and ERIC documents (ED references), 1967-present. EDs before 1997 are requestable using the Microforms Request page and usable in the Microforms Vewing Room in the LC.
A free version of ERIC is available for all to use at this link: https://eric.ed.gov/.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles in 1,800 food science journals, plus other scholarly material, on all aspects of food science, nutrition, and processing, 1969-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1946-present. PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus content from additional journals and books in the life sciences.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed journal literature in psychology, behavioral science and mental health - 2,500 journal titles indexed - 2.8 million records - 1887 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature Complete includes indexing back to 1937 of over 5,000 journals as well as full-text of over 1,300 journals, 27 books, 134 evidence-based care sheets, 360 research instruments records, 169 quick lessons and more.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PolicyFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text policy papers from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and dissertations on human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Journal of American College Health
Provides information related to health in institutions of higher education and includes lots of case studies.
*Available 1997-present

CRS Reports

Find CRS (Congressional Research Service) reports are prepared by experts at the Library of Congress to provide information about timely issues for members and committees of Congress.

The CRS Report "Food Insecurity Among College Students: Background and Policy Options" was published in June 2021.

Use the advanced search feature to limit to just CRS reports if you want to search on your own using the link below.

ProQuest Legislative and Executive Publications This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Hearings, bills, laws and legislative histories, committee prints, Congressional Research Service reports, Congressional Record and predecessors, Executive Branch docs to 1939, and the Serial Set.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Accessing Age Group Filters in PubMed

Conduct a search in PubMed.
On the Results page, look on the left where the default filters are displayed.
At the bottom of the list, click the button “Additional filters.”
Click on “Age” and then click in the boxes for all the age categories you want to have available.
Click the “Show” button.
You should now have a filter section called “Age.”
Click on the one (or ones) you want to limit your search to studies identified as having that age group as subjects.

You can go through a similar process for other filters available.