Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMass Amherst Libraries

Newspaper Collection: Foreign Newspapers by Country & City

Newspapers: Micronesia - South Africa

Country & City Newspaper Name Holdings Location
Micronesia       
Palau Tia Belau 06/1974 undated issue UM Microfilm A 265
Morocco      
Casablanca Al Bayane 03/07/2012- Online: Middle East Newsstand
  La Nouvelle Tribune 03/10/2011- Online: Middle East Newsstand
  Le Petit Marocain 1962-[1971] UM Microfilm A44
Mozambique      
Beira Beira News and East Coast Chronicle 09/04/1917-12/30/1921 Online: NewsBank African  Newsp.
  Beira Post 03/23/1898-08/25/1917 Online: NewsBank African Newsp.
  Diario de Mocambique 1962-1967 UM Microfilm A67
Maputo O Africano 12/25/1908-01/03/1920 Online: NewsBank African Newsp.
  O Brado Africano 12/24/1918-12/30/1922 Online: NewsBank African Newsp.
    1940-11/1956 Online: CRL
Namibia      
Luderitzbucht Luderitzbuchter Zeitung 02/13/1909-12/30/1922 Online: NewsBank African Newsp.
Swakopmund Deutsch-Sudwestafrikanische Zeitung 10/12/1898-11/27/1920 Online: NewsBank African Newsp.
    10/14/1901-06/29/1910 Online: CRL
Windhoek Allgemeine Zeitung 1959-1965  UM Microfilm A45
  Windhoeker Anzeiger 10/12/1898-11/27/1920 Online: NewsBank African Newsp.
Netherlands      
Amsterdam Amsterdam avec Privilege de Nos Seigneurs... 05/26/1705-07/06/1751 Online: Burney Collection
  Amsterdamse Courant 01/15/1712 Online: Burney Collection
  Cosmic Paper [1973-1975] UM Microfilm A265
  HAPOTOC Collective [1981-1982] UM Microfilm A265
  Ins and Outs 07/1980 UM Microfilm A265
  Om 1969 undated issue UM Microfilm A265
  Real Free Press [1968, 1969, 1972, 1974, 1975] UM Microfilm A265
  Witte Krant 1967 undated issue UM Microfilm A265
Den Haag Lets [1967, 1968] UM Microfilm A265
Eindhoven De Andere Krant [1968-1969] UM Microfilm A265
Haarlem Oprechte Haerlemsche Courant 01/16/1681-09/17/1795 Online: Burney Collection
Hallar Het Vrije Ding [1972] UM Microfilm A265
Rotterdam Gazette de Rotterdam 05/18/1705-05/21/1705 Online: Burney Collection
Utrecht Kargadoor Bulletin [1973] UM Microfilm A265
New Zealand      
Auckland Alternative News Service [1972] UM Microfilm A265
  Earwig [1974, 19--] UM Microfilm A265
  Rongo Summer 1974 UM Microfilm A265
Christchurch Ferret [1973] UM Microfilm A265
Dunedin Midnight Rider [1972-1973] UM Microfilm A265
  Travelin Light 1976 undated issues UM Microfilm A265
Wellington Itch 1973 undated issues UM Microfilm A265
Nicaragua      
Managua Barricada 07/1979-04/06/1994 UM Microfilm A841
Nigeria      
Lagos Daily Express 1960-1964 UM Microfilm A55
  Daily Service 1960 UM Microfilm A56
  Daily Times 1956-1994 UM Microfilm A324
  Lagos Observer 03/02/1882-12/29/1888 Online: African Newspapers
  Lagos Standard 01/02/1907-01/28/1920 Online: African Newspapers
  Lagos Weekly Record 08/15/1891-1921 Online: African Newspapers
  Nigerian Chronicle 11/20/1908-03/26/1915 Online: African Newspapers
  Nigerian Pioneer 02/17/1914-12/29/1922 Online: African Newspapers
  Sunday Times 06/1975 Online: CRL
  Times of Nigeria 01/13/1914-11/01/1920 Online: African Newspapers
  West African Pilot 1950-1972 UM Microfilm A666
Northern Ireland      
Belfast Labour's Advocate and Northern Weekly Advert. 04/03/1847-05/22/1847 Online: NCCO
Limavady Brotherhood 05/11/1889-07/25/1891 Online: NCCO
  The County Derry Liberal 10/13/1888-05/04/1889 Online: NCCO
Norway      
Oslo Folkebladet [1974-1975] UM Microfilm A265
  Gateavisa [1973, 1981-1982] UM Microfilm A265
  Regnbuen 1974 undated issue UM Microfilm A265
Oman      
Muscat Businesstoday 07/07/2010- Online: Middle East Newsstand
    2014- Online: Business Source Complete
  Muscat Daily 11/20/2012- Online: Middle East Newsstand
    2012- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
  Theweek 02/13/2008- Online: Middle East Newsstand
    2008- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
  Times of Oman 04/30/2008- Online: Middle East Newsstand
    2008- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
Pakistan      
Lahore The Turkish Newswire 03/23/2011-09/06/2011 Online: Middle East Newsstand
    2011- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
  Weekly Cutting Edge 03/26/2011-09/03/2011 Online: Middle East Newsstand
    2010- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
Peshawar Afghan Islamic Press 03/20/2011-09/24/2013 Online: Middle East Newsstand
Palestine      
  Palestine News & Information Agency 01/13/2011- Online: Middle East Newsstand
Panama      
Panama City La Estrella de Panama 09/30/1858-02/26/1906 Online: Latin American Newspapers
    01/08/1868-1905 Online: Latin American Newspapers
  Panama Herald 04/14/1851-04/27/1854 Online: Latin American Newspapers
  Panama Star 02/24/1849-04/30/1854 Online: Latin American Newspapers
  Star & Herald 05/02/1854-1914 Online: Latin American Newspapers
  Weekly Panama Star and Herald 05/08/1854-09/18/1855 Online: Latin American Newspapers
  Weekly Star 03/14/1853-05/01/1854 Online: Latin American Newspapers
Peru      
Lima Comercio 05/04/1839-03/24/1910 Online: Latin American Newspapers
  El Comercio 1925-1952 UM Microfilm A737
    1974-[1987]-[1992-1994]-[1998] UM Microfilm A737
  El Diario 06/1987-08/1989 UM Microfilm A1052
  Materiales para la Communication Popular 11/1983 UM Microfilm A265
  Peruano 06/05/1827-12/30/1922 Online: Latin American Newspapers
  West Coast Leader 01/03/1912-12/27/1922 Online: Latin American Newspapers
Philippines      
Cebu City El Democrata: Organo del Partido Democrata 11/1920-12/1920 Online: CRL
Manila The Manilla Chronicle 1961-1964 UM Microfilm A114
  NDF-Update Philippines [1982] UM Microfilm A265
Poland      
Warsaw Trybuna Ludu 1953-06/1989 UM Microfilm A410

Portugal

     

Lisbon

Expresso 1973- UM Microfilm A751

Rhodesia

     

Bulawayo

The Chronicle [1950-1951]-[1969]-09/07/1988 UM Microfilm A66

 

Sunday News 06/1950-1987 UM Microfilm A71
Salisbury Evening Standard 09/1958-10/1962 UM Microfilm A65
  The Sunday Mail 06/1950-[1966]-09/25/1988 UM Microfilm A64
Umtali Umtali Post [1950]-[1953-1954]-[1968-1969]-[1974] UM Microfilm A70
Russia      
Moscow Izvestiia Sovetov Deputatov Trudiashchikhsia... 1938-1977 UM Microfilm A339
  Izvestiia Sovetov Narodnykh Deputatov SSSR 10/08/1977-06/30/1991 UM Microfilm A339
  Izvestiia Tsentral'nogo Ispolnitel'nago Komiteta #1-01/20/1938 UM Microfilm A339
  Literaturnaia Gazeta 1945- UM Microfilm A662
  Pravda 1921-06/1991, 1992- UM Microfilm A323
Saint Petersburg Journal de St. Petersbourg 1873-03/1909 UM Microfilm A936
Russia (Federation)      
Moscow Ekonomicheskaia Gazeta 1964-1977 UM Microfilm A648
  Krasnaia Zvezda 1925, 1929, 1930, 1932-1965 UM Microfilm A707
Santa Domingo      
Santa Cruz Amenaza Nuclear 1983 undated issue UM Microfilm A265
Sao Tome and Principe      
Sao Tome Folha de Annuncios 07/10/1911-07/20/1911 Online: African Newspapers
  O Africano 03/14/1909-07/29/1910 Online: African Newspapers
  Verdade 06/26/1910-08/30/1911 Online: African Newspapers
Saudi Arabia      
Jeddah Arab News 2003- Online: World News Connection
    06/19/2008- Online: Middle East Newsstand
    2008- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
Scotland      
Aberdeen The Fiery Cross 06/25/1892-07/04/1892 Online: NCCO
Edinburgh Echo or Edinburgh Weekly Journal 05/28/1729-12/22/1731 Online: Burney Collection
  The Lounger 02/05/1785-01/06/1787 Online: Burney Collection
  The Reformer 08/1868-02/1875 UM Microfilm A234
Paisley The Radical Times 02/19/1887-04/09/1887 Online: NCCO
Senegal      
Dakar Afrique Nouvelle 1959-1963 UM Microfilm A54
  Dakar-Matin 04/1961-05/1970 UM Microfilm A47
  Paris-Dakar 1958-1961 UM Microfilm A47
Sierra Leone      
Freetown African Interpreter and Advocate 02/02/1867-04/24/1869 Online: African Newspapers
  The Colony and Provincial Reporter 09/21/1912-11/06/1920 Online: African Newspapers
    1915 Online: CRL
  The Independent 12/24/1874-05/23/1878 Online: African Newspapers
  Sierra Leone Guardian and Foreign Mails 04/10/1908-12/20/1918 Online: African Newspapers
  Sierra Leone Times 03/05/1892-04/16/1904 Online: African Newspapers
  Sierra Leone Weekly News 09/06/1884-12/30/1922 Online: African Newspapers
Singapore      
  The Business Times 2011- Online: ProQuest Asian Business
South Africa      
Bloemfontein The Friend 1950-[1969] UM Microfilm A69
  Friend of the Free State and Bloemfontein Gazette 06/10/1850-12/30/1890 Online: African Newspapers
Cape Town Die Burger 1936-1945 UM Microfilm A63
    [1951]-[1964]-[1966-1967]-[1969] UM Microfilm A63
  Cape Argus 01/1857-07/1969 UM Microfilm A42
  Cape Times [1913]-[1935] UM Microfilm A68
  Cape Town Gazette and African Advertiser 08/16/1800-05/01/1829 Online: African Newspapers
  Indaba 08/01/1862-02/01/1865 Online: African Newspapers
  New Age 01/1962-11/1962 UM Microfilm A59
  Umsebenzi 04/1930-07/1936 UM Microfilm A57
Durban The Daily News 1962-[1969] UM Microfilm A87
  Ilanga Lase Natal 04/10/1903-12/29/1922 Online: African Newspapers
    05/1925-03/09/1928, 08/1929-11/1931 Online: CRL
  The Indian Opinion 06/04/1903-12/29/1922 Online: African Newspapers
    1926-1927, 1930 Online: CRL
  The Natal Advertiser 1891-1937 UM Microfilm A87
  The Natal Advertiser and South African Mining J. 1887-1891 UM Microfilm A87
  The Natal Daily News 1937-1962 UM Microfilm A87
  The Natal Mercantile Advertiser 1878-1887 UM Microfilm A87
  The Natal Mercury 1863-[1948]-[1955-1957]-[1972]-[1974] UM Microfilm A74
  The Natal Mercury and Advertiser 1855-1856 UM Microfilm A74
  The Natal Mercury and Commercial Advertiser 1860-1862 UM Microfilm A74
  The Natal Mercury & Commercial & Shipping Gaz. 1852-1855 UM Microfilm A74
  The Natal Mercury & Durban & Pietemaritzburg Ad. 1857-1860 UM Microfilm A74
  The Natal Mercury & Mercantile & Gen. Advertiser 1856-1857 UM Microfilm A74
East London Izwi Labantu 06/04/1901-04/16/1909 Online: African Newspapers
Grahamstown Journal 12/30/1831-12/31/1913 Online: African Newspapers
    12/30/1831-12/31/1913 Online: World Newspaper Archive
Johannesburg Press Cuttings Files 1956-1967 UM Microfilm 735
  Race Relations Series 1920s-1960s UM Microfilm 734
  South Africa, Miscellaneous Documents 1902-1963 UM Microfilm 311
  The Bantu World 1932-1955 UM Microfilm A58
  The Black Sash: Die Swart Serp 1956-1966 UM Microfilm A869
  Dagbreek 06/1947-12/1947 UM Microfilm A43
  Dagbreek en Landstem 12/1967-11/1970 UM Microfilm A43
 

Dagbreek en Sondagnuus

12/1947-12/1967 UM Microfilm A43

Newspapers: South Africa - Zimbabwe

Country & City Newspaper Name Holdings Location
South Africa       
Johannesburg Golden City Post 03/13/1955-06/27/1965 UM Microfilm A867
  Inkululeku 07/02/1926-03/19/1938 UM Microfilm A57
  The International 09/1915-09/1924 UM Microfilm A52
    09/10/1915-09/05/1924 Online: African Newspapers
  PlusNews 03/22/2011- Online: Middle East Newsstand
    2010- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
  Rand Daily Mail 10/03/1905-12/31/1910 Online: African Newspapers
    09/01/1950-02/03/1972 UM Microfilm A260
    02/26/1972-04/30/1985 UM Microfilm A260
  Saamtrek 09/05/1952-12/06/1963 UM Microfilm A868
  South African Worker 06/1936-03/1938 UM Microfilm A57
  The Star 11/1947-[1956-1957]-08/1989 UM Microfilm A84
  Sunday Times 1906-[1922]-[1926]-[1932-1933]- UM Microfilm A72
    [1949]-[1953-1954]-[1959]-08/07/1989 UM Microfilm A72
  Umteteli wa Bantu=The Mouthpiece of the Native.. 05/01/1920-12/30/1922 Online: African Newspapers
    10/09/1937-11/05/1938 Online: CRL
  World 1956-1965 UM Microfilm A58
Kimberley Diamond Fields Advertiser 1879-1969 UM Microfilm A75
  The Diamond Fields Adv. and Commercial Guide 1878-1879 UM Microfilm A75
  Tsala Ea Batho 07/09/1910-07/24/1915 Online: African Newspapers
King William's Town Imvo Zabantsundu 11/03/1884-12/26/1922 Online: African Newspapers
    1962-1963 UM Microfilm A77
Lovedale Kaffir Express/Isigidimi Sama-Xosa 10/01/1870-12/01/1875 Online: African Newspapers
  South African Outlook 10/01/1870-12/01/1922 Online: African Newspapers
    01/02/1935-12/01/1946 Online: CRL
Mafeking Koranta Ea Becoana 04/27/1901-12/30/1903 Online: African Newspapers
  Mafeking Mail and Protectorate Guardian 05/20/1899-12/30/1922 Online: African Newspapers
Pietermaritzburg Ipepa Lo Hlanga: The National Wkly. Newspaper 1903/1904 UM Microfilm A61
  Natal Witness 02/27/1846-03/14/1885 Online: African Newspapers
    1962-1963, [1965-1966] UM Microfilm A60
Pinetown Izindaba Zabantu 10/17/1910-12/15/1922 Online: African Newspapers
Pretoria Pretoria News [1898]-08/29/1989 UM Microfilm A73
Rustenburg The Rustenburg Herald=Die Rustenburg Herout 02/08/1963-05/31/1963 UM Microfilm A1276
Verulam Inkundla Ya Bantu: Bantu Forum 01/1944-1949, 01/1951-11/1951 UM Microfilm A46
Spain      
Barcelona Ecotopia 2 undated issues UM Microfilm A265
  Integral 1982 undated issue UM Microfilm A265
Madrid ABC 1968-[1985]-1986 UM Microfilm A327
  Gaceta de Madrid 1856-1899 UM Microfilm A6
  El Pais 1987-07/15/1988, 1989- UM Microfilm A950
Sri Lanka      
Colombo Ceylon Daily News 1956-1960, 1967-1968 UM Microfilm A78
State of Qatar      
Doha Aljazeera.net 06/15/2008-11/29/2010 Online: Middle East Newsstand
    2008- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
  Gulf Times 11/19/2012- Online: Middle East Newsstand
    2011- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
  The Peninsula 11/19/2012- Online: Middle East Newsstand
  Qatar Tribune 09/04/2009- Online: Middle East Newsstand
    2009- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
Swaziland      
Bremersdorp The Times of Swaziland 06/05/1897-01/30/1909 Online: African Newspapers
Sweden      
Roel Miss Blanche 1967 undated issue UM Microfilm A265
Stockholm Comunidad [1983-1984] UM Microfilm A265
Switzerland      
Bellinzona Wurzel 05-06 year unknown UM Microfilm A265
Geneva Transnational Perspectives [1982-1983] UM Microfilm A265
Nyon I F D A Dossier [1985] UM Microfilm A265
Ticino Paria undated issues UM Microfilm A265
Zurich Hotcha [1968-1970] UM Microfilm A265
  Information Extrablatt 1968 undated issue UM Microfilm A265
  Neue Zurcher Zeitung und Schweizerisches Han... 1938-1978, 1982-1989 UM Microfilm A176
Tanzania      
Dar es Salaam Dar es Salaam Times 11/19/1919-12/29/1923 Online: African Newspapers
Thailand      
Bangkok The Bangkok Times Weekly 12/1897-12/1941 UM Microfilm A119
  Business Daily, Bangkok 12/17/1997-11/17/2003 Online: ProQuest Asian Business
Trinidad and Tobago      
Port of Spain Port of Spain Gazette 01/03/1907-1914 Online: African Newspapers
Tunisia      
El Menzah Le Temps 08/21/2008- Online: Middle East Newsstand
Turkey      
Istanbul Cihan News Agency 12/10/2010- Online: Middle East Newsstand
    2009- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
  Takvim-I Vakayi 05/11/1835-06/09/1854 UM Microfilm A291
    09/15/1908-11/04/1922 UM Microfilm A291
Uganda      
Kampala Uganda Herald 07/05/1912-12/29/1922 Online: African Newspapers
United Arab Emirates      
Abu Dhabi Emirates News Agency 08/21/2008- Online: Middle East Newsstand
    2008- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
  The National 03/20/2011 Online: Middle East Newsstand
Al Ain Al Ain Times 11/08/2012-05/14/2013 Online: Middle East Newsstand
Dubai 7Days 12/25/2006- Online: Middle East Newsstand
  AlArabiya.net 01/26/2009- Online: Middle East Newsstand
  Gulf News 06/22/2006- Online: Middle East Newsstand
    2011- Online: ABI Inform Complete
  Islamic Globe 01/19/2011- Online: Middle East Newsstand
    2011- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
  Khaleej Times 01/13/2009- Online: Middle East Newsstand
    2000-2002 Online: Westlaw Campus Research
  Middle East Company News 03/10/2003- Online: Middle East Newsstand
  Middle East Financial News 03/10/2003- Online: Middle East Newsstand
    2003- Onlilne: Banking Information Service
  XPRESS 11/13/2008- Online: Middle East Newsstand
Uruguay      
Montevideo Los Huevos del Plata 10/1968 UM Microfilm A265
  Marcha 1939-1974 UM Microfilm A699
  Nueva Accion Femenina [1968-1971] UM Microfilm 2337 Reel 2
Uzbekistan      
Tashkent Uzbekistan National News Agency (English) 03/21/2011- Online: Middle East Newsstand
  Uzbekistan National News Agency (French) 04/07/2011- Online: Middle East Newsstand
  Uzbekistan National News Agency (German) 03/29/2011- Online: Middle East Newsstand
Vatican City      
  L'Osservatore Romano: Giornale Quotidiano Pol... 1951-1972 UM Microfilm A414
Venezuela      
Caracas Haoma [1967-1969] UM Microfilm A265
  Ko'eyu [1983] UM Microfilm A265
  El Nacional 1966-06/30/1980 UM Microfilm A156
  Venezuelan Herald 08/15/1898-11/05/1904 Online: Latin American Newspapers
Vietnam      
Saigon Dan Ba Moi 02/17/1936-02/24/1936 Online: CRL
    03/16/1936-12/28/1936 Online: CRL
  L'Indochine 06/1925-08/1925 UM Microfilm A228
  L'Indochine Enchainee 11/1925-02/1926 UM Microfilm A228
  The Observer 1964-01/27/1973 UM Microfilm A780
  The Saigon Post 12/23/1963-09/1964 UM Microfilm A901
Wales      
Cardiff Broken Arrow [1973] UM Microfilm A265
  Cardiff Peoples Paper 1976 undated issue UM Microfilm A265
Llanelli South Wales Sentinel and Labour News 09/29/1911-06/28/1912 Online: NCCO
Yemen      
Sana'a Yemen Observer 07/26/2013- Online: Middle East Newsstand
  Yemen Post 11/19/2012- Online: Middle East Newsstand
    2012- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
  Yemen Times 03/10/2003- Online: Middle East Newsstand
    2008- Online: Westlaw Campus Research
Yugoslavia      
Beograd Borba 1968-1975 UM Microfilm A409
Zambia      
Livingstone The Livingstone Mail 01/07/1916-12/28/1922 Online: African Newspapers
    1916-1917 Online: CRL
Lusaka Central African Post 1960-1964 UM Microfilm A51
Ndola Northern News 01/03/1956-06/1965 UM Microfilm A76
  Sunday Times of Zambia 11/1970-1972 UM Microfilm A317
  The Times of Zambia 07/1965-[1967] UM Microfilm A76
  Zambia News 08/06/1967-11/23/1969 UM Microfilm A86
    09/13/1970-10/25/1970 UM Microfilm A86
Zimbabwe      
Buluwayo Buluwayo Chronicle 10/12/1894-12/30/1922 Online: African Newspapers
  The Chronicle [1950-1951]-[1969]-09/07/1988 UM Microfilm A66
Harare Rhodesia Herald 10/29/1892-12/29/1922 Online: African Newspapers
Salisbury The Sunday Mail 06/1950-[1966]-09/25/1988 UM Microfilm A64