HISTORY 450 China and US (JYW)
Journal Articles
The traditional way to search for journal articles on your topic is to use an index, such as Historical Abstracts, which then provides you with an abstract and the citation you need to locate the journal in your library or request it through interlibrary loan. These days, many indexes contain the full text or provide a system that links you to the full-text in another database such as JSTOR.
JSTOR is a collection of digital backfiles of journals from a range of subjects. It also includes a searching function and since it will let you search into the full-text, many people find JSTOR immensely satisfying. A fairly recent feature includes citations to articles held outside of JSTOR, such as in the Project MUSE collection. So the waters are getting muddy.
My suggestion is that you start your search with Historical Abstracts and/or the Bibliography of Asian Studies. If you can't find what you need turn to searching within JSTOR.
- Historical Abstracts Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, many in full text, and citations to books and dissertations on world history from 1450, published 1954-present. - America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews, many in full text, relating to United States and Canadian history and prehistory, 1954-present. - Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters relating to Asia and Asian Studies, 1971-present - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present. - Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present.
Finding Books
Books on twentieth century China in our library catalog have been cataloged using a range of subject headings depending on the actual focus and time period of the book. For example:
- China -- History -- 20th century DS773.83
- China -- History -- 1912-1928
- China -- History -- 1912-1937
- China -- History -- 1912-1938
- China -- History -- 1928-1937 DS777.47
- China -- History -- 1937-1945 DS777.518
- China -- History -- 1945-1949 DS777.535
- China -- History -- 1949-1976 DS777.545
- China -- History -- 1976-2002 DS779.15
But you may also need to search for:
- China -- Civilization -- 1912-1949
- China -- Civilization -- 1949-
- China -- Civilization -- 1976-
- China -- Politics and government -- 1900-1949
- China -- Politics and government -- 1912-1928
- China -- Politics and government -- 1949-1976
If you can't tell whether or not a book would be useful to you, try looking inside by using Google Books.
