HISTORY 450 China and US (JYW)
taught by Stephen Platt
Finding Aids and Digitized Collections
Really nothing can beat putting your hands on real primary sources, Each of the Five Colleges has its own archives with its own particular strengths.
- Digital Public Library Americanational digital library project.
- Digital Commonwealth CatalogExplore historical collections from libraries, museums, and archives across Massachusetts. Includes UMass holdings and has a better search interface.
- Five College Archives & Manuscripts Collections DatabaseUse this database to search for collections on your topic. View the finding aids to see exactly what kinds of materials are in the files. Click on the Advanced Search button and then do a subject search on China. You may also add another keyword to get at the topic you want to research.
- Primary Sources on China at Yale UniversityLots of papers and documents related to the lives of missionaries in China, Chinese in America, and other China-related materials.
- Hoover Institute at StanfordChina collections
Digitized Archival Collections
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new windowDeclassified documents of the NSA and predecessor agencies, 1882-present.
- Declassified Documents Reference Service This link opens in a new window78,000 government documents declassified by the 1967 Freedom of Information Act.
- Women and Social Movements International This link opens in a new windowWomen activists' letters and diaries, conference proceedings, and other primary and secondary sources 1840-present.
