Basic Methods of Teaching Foreign Languages

Welcome! Bienvenue! Benvenuti! Bienvenidos!

This Library Research Guide is intended for students of the class on

Basic Methods of Teaching Foreign Languages

Books

Communicative Language Teaching in Action by Klaus Brandl
Call Number: P53.255 .B73 2008
ISBN: 9780131579064
Publication Date: 2008

To find books at UMass, you have two options.

1. Start with the general search box on the library home page, www.library.umass.edu.
Advantages:

This catalog gives you access to libraries and collections throughout North America and beyond! It starts with UMass but does not limit you to our catalog.

Citations can be exported directly to RefWorks or other citation managers.

2. Or, use the Five Colleges Library Catalog.
Advantages:

This catalog lets you search in some very specifc ways, for example, by Library of Congress Subject Heading. Be as specific as possible in your searching. Start with a subject search (use keyword if subject yields no results). Search by author, title, subject, keyword, call number, journal title, etc. For materials on a specific subject, enter your term(s) into the Subject or Keyword search boxes.

Citations can be exported directly to RefWorks or other citation managers.

How to Teach Modern Languages and Survive! by Jan Pleuger
Call Number: E-Book PB35 .P54 2001eb
Publication Date: 2001

We order for you - for free!

Use your Interlibrary Loan account to:

Borrow books, videos, and other materials not available in the Five College system.
Request electronic copies of articles and book chapters not available at UMass.
In databases, and in your Refworks account, use the button to taken directly to Interlibrary Loan, so you can order articles if UMass does not have them.

Databases for articles and research reports

ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education journal articles (EJ references) and ERIC documents (ED references), 1967-present. EDs before 1997 are requestable using the Microforms Request page and usable in the Microforms Vewing Room in the LC.
A free version of ERIC is available for all to use at this link: https://eric.ed.gov/.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920s -
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

You can access Google Scholar with UMLinks buttons from outside the UMass Amherst IP range ("off campus") by two methods:

1. Access Google Scholar through the Library web site by using this link.
2. Go to generic Google Scholar.
a. Click on "Settings."
b. Click on Library links.
c. Type in "University of Massachusetts" or "UMass Amherst" (or a few other variations).
d. Check "University of Massachusetts Amherst - UMass Check for Full Text" and Save.
e. You will be asked to authenticate somewhere along the way to full text.
ARTFL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 2000 texts ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing, 12th to 19th century.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Tip for databases

After you've run a search, use the button to retrieve articles or to be taken directly to the Interlibrary Loan request page, so you can order the article if UMass does not have it.

Citation Management

Use a citation manager, such as RefWorks to keep track of your research.

Put all your references in RefWorks, create quick and easy bibliographies, build your knowledgebase.

For help on RefWorks, check out the online guides and webinars or Ask a Librarian.

If you're looking for another citation management option to RefWorks, try Zotero.

French & Italian Library Resources

Check out the French & Italian Library Resources page

Evaluate the library class

Fill out this anonymous evaluation form and give us feedback on the library instruction by librarian Isabel Espinal.