Libraries Ask Us

Chinese 391G: Junior Year Writing

Historical Backfiles of the News

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News, business and legal sources
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Newspaper: New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of The New York Times, with coverage from 1851 to three years ago.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Newspaper: Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Massachusetts' newspaper of record, 1872-1991. Additional content is added yearly.

Users must limit their search to "full text" on the left side of the screen to make sure they only get results that include the Full Text. Without the limiter, the "abstracts" will be indexed as well.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Newspaper: Hartford Courant This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Connecticut's paper of record, 1764-1997. New content added yearly.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Newspaper: South China Morning Post This link opens in a new window
English-language newspaper published in Hong Kong, with coverage from 1903 - 2001
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
People's Daily (Ren Min Ri Bao) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Chinese newspaper of record, 1946-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
On the landing page, you will use the “click here” link underneath “People’s Daily – Renmin Ribao (1946-present)" to access the database.
There is a maximum of two (2) simultaneous users for this database.
Shen Bao Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The first newspaper in China with a Chinese editorial staff, 1872-1949. Established in 1872, Shen Bao (申報, historically transliterated as Shun Pao or Shen-pao) was the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper before the establishment of the People’s Republic. Published until 1949, Shen Bao was uniquely a newspaper for Chinese readers, written by Chinese reporters. During its existence, Shen Bao gradually shifted from a conservative to a more liberal perspective, and played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the imperial period and into the tumultuous beginnings of modern China.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Chinese Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
English-language newspapers published in China. Coverage spans 1832-1953, with most content from 1910-1940.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers
open access (no subscription needed).

Current News and Magazines

PressReader This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 7,000 newspapers and magazines from across the world.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password. As of May 2022, Pressreader no longer supports Internet Explorer, please use another browser for the best experience.
Access World Research Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of U.S. and global news sources, including printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

People's Daily Online

Current contents only. Rarely are there backfiles available for free.