Chinese 391G: Junior Year Writing
Got Questions? Ask Me
Sharon Domier
Contact:
room 2249 (22nd floor)
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
University of Massachusetts
Amherst, MA
01275
W.E.B. Du Bois Library
University of Massachusetts
Amherst, MA
01275
413-577-2633
Website
Popular Articles
- Discovery Search This link opens in a new windowFind articles across a large number of library resources with just one search! Begin your generalized research here.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for articles from popular periodicals from the U.S. and Canada, 1890-1982.
Articles in Chinese
- China Academic JournalsWe have Full-text access only to the section that we subscribe to: Literature/History/Philosophy and for the years 1994-present. You can see tables of contents for the journals on the same website. Use the citations to request the articles through interlibrary loan. Search using either simplified Chinese or English but be warned that the results using English won't be as good. Smith College's subscription includes more areas than ours, so please go to Smith if you are doing research in political science, economics, or management.
- China/Asia On Demand (CAOD) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nearly all journals in China, with coverage across all regions of Asia, including articles, theses, dissertations, patents and conference proceedings.
- Hong Kong Journals OnlineHong Kong Journals Online (HKJO) is a full-text image database providing access to selected academic and professional journals, both in English and Chinese, published in Hong Kong.
Top Choices for Chinese Studies
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters relating to Asia and Asian Studies, 1971-present
Not all databases provide the full-text of articles. Some like BAS are citation only. In most cases there will be a UMLinks button that you can click that will search our local information and tell you if there is an e-text available, print copy in the 5 colleges, or if you need to request a copy through interlibrary loan. It costs the library quite a bit of money to purchase the articles on your behalf - so wse interlibrary loan wisely.
Sometimes you want to work backwards. You see a citation in a book or article that you want to read. Use the citation linker to see if the Library has the item.
- Historical Abstracts Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, many in full text, and citations to books and dissertations on world history from 1450, published 1954-present. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles and other scholarly literature on literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, folklore, and (since 1996) film, 1920s - - PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, government documents, reports in the fields of political science, public and social policy, international relations 1915-. - Linguistics Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for articles in the scholarly journals of linguistics, 1985-present. - Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to the humanities, social sciences, and non-technical general sciences, 1980-present. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse to access many UMass online journal subscriptions.
