Resource Economics

Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.

AfricaBib is an index for Africana social science titles, including the Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature.

Searchable directory of US and foreign companies with substantial overseas operations. Search by geographic location, industry, sales, employees, and keyword. UMass students - you can use this database to locate potential overseas US employers.

American FactFinder has been discontinued. This link will go to Data.gov, where the same information is available.

The Asian business collection focuses on companies, economies, markets and overall business conditions in the Eastern Hemisphere.

Content type: Market research reports. Description: BCC reports analyze the industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology marketplace. Industry focus: life sciences, advanced materials, manufacturing, chemical, engineering.

Indexes content from journals, conferences, books, and U.S. patents covering the life sciences and biomedical research since 1926.

Content Type: Business journal articles, company reports. Description: Peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, and business magazines. Company SWOT reports. Includes the Harvard Business Review, Volume 1 (1922) to present.

The Congression Collection analyzes the history and development, legislation, powers, and personalities of the U.S. Congress. Learn how Congress works. Retrieve floor vote data. View biographical profiles of every member of Congress.

Collection of databases that index journal articles, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, news, some in full text, published in the fields related to aquatic science, oceanography, water resources. See note for more detail. Varying coverage dates.

Directory of organizations, associations and non-profit membership groups in three parts: National, International, Regional/local. Provides contact information and descriptions; searchable by subject.

Scholarly resources and practitioner tools for enterprise and innovation research - annual reports, journals & magazines, blogs, business cases, business plans, forms & templates, dissertations, e-books, how-to guides, streaming video clips.

Directory of environmental resource organizations, events and statistics.
Section I - Organizations: Associations, conferences and trade shows, foundations and charities, government agencies, national parks and wildlife refuges, publications, research centers and educational programs.
Section II - Statistics: Children’s Environmental Index, municipal finances, toxic chemicals, recycling, climate, air quality, water quality.

SG Manager provides (E) environmental, (S) social, and (G) governance reports for 6,000 global companies, including 3,000 US public companies. Search by ticker, industry, country, IVA rating (AAA to CCC) and controversial business screening. Click a company name to view output options.
Three report-types are available for each company:
1. Intangible Value Assessment Report - measures a company's environmental, social and governance performance.
2. Impact Monitor Report - assessment of major controversies related to a company's operation and/or products, e.g., worker accidents.
3. ESG Industry Report - ESG industry-level trends. Compares IVA ratings for major companies within an industry.

Choose "Log In with your Network ID" to use your NetID for access.

Content type: Career planning resources. Description: Career guides, profession profiles, industry trends, employer reviews, job banks, resume/interview tools.

A comprehensive credit analytics and macro intelligence platform that provides country risk ratings, macroeconomic analyses and forecasts, industry overviews and market reports. Coverage of over 200 global markets and major industry sectors, with an emphasis on economic and political risk analysis and forecasts, as well as historical data, daily analysts' views, and news reports and developments across global economies.

Search by topic and/or geography: agriculture, food, energy, pollution, economic development, social factors and in journals, magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias as well as primary sources.

Scholarly, government, and general-interest articles on climate change, renewable energy, green building, sustainable agriculture, green building, pollution, recycling, education, law, health, and technology. Covers 1973-current.

500 hospitality/tourism journals, magazines and trade publications. This database supports teaching and research at the UMass Hospitality & Tourism Department.

US Industry reports - current analysis of every US industry. Report chapters: Industry at a Glance, Performance, Outlook, Products & Markets, Competitive Landscape, Major Companies, Operating Conditions, Key Statistics.

Provides data on U.S. and foreign companies and 20+ industry sectors, SWOT analyses, global trends, product launches, social media analytics, case studies, market research and insights reports.

To access, open the link, then click on the button "IP Access" on the GlobalData login page.

Market reports - focus on business/financial services, consumer goods, travel, food/beverage, agriculture, energy and resources, construction, biotechnology, diagnostics, healthcare, medical devices, pharmaceuticals, e-commerce, IT outsourcing, networking, and telecommunications.

Reports and financial data - all public companies worldwide. 15 years of balance sheet, income and ratio data. Annual reports, SEC Filings. Also includes D&B 20 Million Plus Database - reports and financial data for private companies worldwide.

1,000+ current consumer market reports - analyze consumer market drivers, market size, segmentation, consumer characteristics, supply structure, advertising, promotion, retail distribution. SECTORS: Automotive, beauty, fashion, financial services, food & drink, food service, health & wellness, household, leisure, entertainment, travel, tourism.

Market share data for 30 countries - market size, market share and forecast data for thousands of consumer goods categories worldwide - alcoholic drinks, beauty, personal goods, toiletries, food & beverage, food service, household, clothing, pharmaceuticals, automotive, footwear, consumer electronics, travel, media, personal finance, retail, telecommunications.

Global consumer/culture trends tool - provides strategic, evidence-backed insights on today’s consumer. Analyze changes in culture, society, brands and markets. UMass students use Mintel Trends to understand consumer behaviors and why they change, generate original product proposals, and create better product promotions.

Stock and mutual fund reports. Investment analyst opinions/ratings - 1,700 US stocks (all NYSE, NASDAQ, ASE), 2,200 mutual funds, and 400 exchange traded funds. Includes stock/fund screener, Portfolio X-ray, Morningstar newsletters, video features and educational tools.

NBER researchers working papers analyze the US economy. They are aimed at other professional economists in academic institutions, business, government. Nearly 700 NBER Working Papers are published annually. Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization based in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Full text of the 8 volume print 2nd edition, an archive of the 1987 text and quarterly additions and updates.

News, business and legal sources

Publications of the Organization of Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Books, reports and data for every OECD country. Coverage from 1998 to present, with data sets back to the 1960s.

Each Oxford Handbook offers a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study. Individual articles, signed by top scholars in their field, review key issues and major debates, and provide an original argument for how future research might evolve.

Must login in with UMass NetID and Password
20,000 business, technology and digital media e-books from the best business/technology publishers - O'Reilly, Sams, John Wiley, Sybex, Que, Career Press, Jossey-Bass, McGraw-Hill, AMACON, Oracle Press, Microsoft and many more.

Articles, government documents, reports in the fields of political science, public and social policy, international relations 1915-.

Market and industry trend analysis for 35 US industry sectors. Includes statistical tables, business intelligence, key industry associations, corporate executive contacts, industry glossary.

Full text policy papers from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.

Information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system.

Once you're in the database, search for "Political Handbook of the World" to see each chapter.

US corporate history through annual reports - 800 leading US companies, 150 years of historical coverage - 42,000 reports, earliest from 1844.

Hearings, bills, laws and legislative histories, committee prints, Congressional Research Service reports, Congressional Record and predecessors, Executive Branch docs to 1939, and the Serial Set.

Statistics from U.S. agencies on population, society, trade, the government, and much more, 2013-present. This for-profit version continues Statistical Abstract of the United States, 1878-2012.

References to statistical reports from federal, state and local governments, private organizations, and intergovernmental agencies, 1973-present.

Citations and abstracts for journals covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, 1974 - present.

Full-text business news from 110 US and Canadian regional business publications. Coverage of all metro and regional markets - from 1990 to present. Use this resource to locate hard-to-find local and regional business news.

Search over 20,000 datasets from public opinion surveys dating back to the 1930s. Approximately 60% of these were conducted in the United States; 8,000 datasets are from over 100 countries.

Curriculum-oriented reports, short articles, data and expert views on newsworthy or controversial topics.

Must create an account with UMass Amherst email address.

SimplyMap provides users with over 70,000 variables related to demographics, marketing, product usage, points-of-interest, consumer behavior and lifestyle segmentation for the United States at all levels of geography (States, Congressional Districts, Counties, Cities/Places, ZIP Codes, Census Tracts and Block Groups).

Maps illustrating Census data from 1790 to 2010, with recent community, religion, and carbon emissions data.

Full-text and full-image of every Wall Street Journal article from 1984 to today.

Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.

Monthly trade statistics for 35 countries - the US, Canada, the 28 EU Countries, China, Japan, Taiwan, Chile and Colombia. Annual data is available for 130 additional countries.

The World Advertising Research Center (WARC) provides articles on advertising, marketing, brands and campaigns. It includes case studies, marketing intelligence, best practice guides, consumer insight, industry trends, news, data and forecasts, trends in TV viewing, newspapers and other media, economic and demographic data, profiles of major brand owners and more.

World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources - presents the most current and accurate global development data available, including national, regional and global estimates. Coverage from 1960 to present.