Libraries Ask Us

Food Systems

Food systems resources -- including "local food" -- at the UMass Libraries and beyond.

Library Databases (UMass Amherst LOG IN REQUIRED)

Academic Search Premier
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

AGRICOLA
Covers agriculture; plant and animal sciences; forestry; entomology; soil and water resources; agricultural economics and engineering; alternative farming; nutrition, 1970-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Alt-Press Watch
Several hundred U.S. alternative newsweeklies, covering issues like the environment, labor, public policy, and the peace movement, 1970-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Bloomsbury Food Library
Bloomsbury Food Library is a collection of interdisciplinary food studies materials with content from history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, literary studies, political science, and development studies.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
Provides a searchable index of peer-reviewed monographs and edited volumes published according to its requirements.
Content is freely available for use by all.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic communities in the United States. In several languages, 1965-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts
Articles in 1,800 food science journals, plus other scholarly material, on all aspects of food science, nutrition, and processing, 1969-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies
Search by topic and/or geography: agriculture, food, energy, pollution, economic development, social factors and in journals, magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias as well as primary sources.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Gale OneFile: Gardening and Horticulture
Indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text journal articles, conference proceedings, reviews, books, and recipes. 1901-present.

Full text available in PDF and HTML. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
GreenFILE
Scholarly, government, and general-interest articles on climate change, renewable energy, green building, sustainable agriculture, green building, pollution, recycling, education, law, health, and technology. Covers 1973-current.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Left Index
Citations to articles in leftist periodicals, on labor, ecology & environment, race, social & cultural theory, 1982-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Science.gov
A site that organizes access to agriculture, computer, health, energy and other scientific information from U.S. government agencies. Current.
Content is freely available for use by all.