Skip to main content
UMass Amherst Libraries

African Studies

Internet resources

Africa South of the Sahara  
( http://www-sul.stanford.edu/depts/ssrg/africa/guide.html)
A well-maintained site, arranged by country and topic.

Digital Innovation-South Africa
"DISA is a freely accessible online scholarly resource focusing on the socio-political history of South Africa, particularly the struggle for freedom during the period from 1950 to the first democratic elections in 1994."

Columbia (http://www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/indiv/africa/cuvl/)
Another good site with access both by country name and broad topic.

An A-Z of Africa   (http://www.lib.msu.edu/limb/a-z/az.html)
A comprehensive compilation of Africa-related sites, in alphabetical order.

African Governments on the Web  (http://www.gksoft.com/govt/en/africa.html)
A compilation of official government Web sites for each country, as well as a selection of more general informational resources.

Africa Index (http://www.afrika.no/index)
Primarily a news service, with additional information sites.

Penn (http://www.sas.upenn.edu/African_Studies/AS.html)
The "original" mega-site for African studies. Their country specific pages remain very useful, although no longer comprehensive.

AFRINUL is the union list of African newspapers in all formats held by U.S. libraries (will eventually expand to include libraries worldwide).Under construction at the Center for Research Libraries.

Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature
(http://lcweb2.loc.gov/misc/qsihtml/)
Provides an online index to articles indexed in print format in: Quarterly Index to Periodical Literature, Eastern and Southern Africa, 1991-1999 and in Quarterly Index to Africana Periodical Literature 2000- (Z 3508 Q38). The Library of Congress Field Office will provide paper copies of articles via postal service.

African Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database  (http://www.africabib.org) The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database) and African Women's literature (African Women's Database). You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa: 1763-1999: A Comprehensive English Language Bibliography).

Electronic Journal of African Bibliography (http://sdrc.lib.uiowa.edu/ejab/) A refereed journal of bibliographies and articles about library and archival collections.

African Research Central   (http://www.africa-research.org/) A site providing links to archives and other collections of primary research materials. Not all sites have actual documents online -most are only guides to the collections. Supplemented by print guides to archives in ASL reference.

Cooperative African Microform Project   (http://www.crl.edu/areastudies/CAMP/index.htm) Click on CRLCatalog for Africanist holdings of the Center for Research Libraries. CAMP is a group of Africana libraries which cooperatives purchases commercially filmed archives and newspapers, or arranges for the filming of important bodies of documentation.

H-Africa, TOC   (http://www2.h-net.msu.edu/~africa/toc/index.html) A list of tables of contents of Africanist journals, and articles in non-Africanist journals on the Web site of a major Africanist scholarly electronic discussion list

(Thanks to Boston University Library's African Studies web page and the work of the late Gretchen Walsh)