African Studies

Academic databases

African Studies can encompass the entire range of science, social science, and humanities dsiciplines. It's always best to tailor your searches to appropriate databases. The Research Database page can be very helpful.

Article databases

AllAfrica This link opens in a new window
News stories from a full range of local newspapers from all over the African continent, 1997-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
AfricaBib.org This link opens in a new window
AfricaBib is an index for Africana social science titles, including the Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature.
Content is freely available for use by all.
Historical Abstracts Full Text This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, many in full text, and citations to books and dissertations on world history from 1450, published 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Academic OneFile
A large interdisciplinary collection of scholarly, professional and trade journal articles, 1980-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews, many in full text, relating to United States and Canadian history and prehistory, 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Historical Abstracts Full Text This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, many in full text, and citations to books and dissertations on world history from 1450, published 1954-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Print indexes

Not all indexes have been moved online! The library has the following indexes to African Studies which are in print (paper):

Africa Index (1971-1997) Z3503.A19

Africa Bibliography 1984+ Z3503.A34

Quarterly Index to Periodical Literature, Eastern and Southern Africa (1991-1999) Z3503.Q3
Succeeded by the Quarterly Index to Africana Periodical Literature 2000+ Z3503.Q3

Current Bibliography on African Affairs 1962+ Z2501.C8