Skip to main content
UMass Amherst Libraries

African Studies

Academic databases

African Studies can encompass the entire range of science, social science, and humanities dsiciplines. It's always best to tailor your searches to approrpiate databases. The Research Database page is very helpful--if you want to research political science in any way, you would click on that link; there are pages for history, sociology, anthropology, public health, arts, music, literature, etc.

Article databases

AllAfrica.com
News stories from a full range of local newspapers from all over the African continent, 1997-present.

Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature
Indexes over 300 mostly scholarly periodicals from 29 African countries, 1991-present.

Historical Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present.

JSTOR
Core scholarly journals from a range of disciplines, dating from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before present.

Project Muse
Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses; searchable by journal issue, author, and keyword, 1996-present.

Academic Search Premier
A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.

Academic OneFile
A large, interdisciplinary collection of scholarly, professional and trade journal articles, 1980-present.

Humanities International Complete
Journal articles in archaeology, classics, cultural studies, arts, philosophy, history, linguistics, and literature, plus literary magazines, 1975-present.

America: History and Life
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews relating to United States and Canadian history and prehistory, 1954-present. Important for U.S.-African relations.

Print indexes

Not all indexes have been moved online! The library has the following indexes to African Studies which are in print in the Reference area:

Africa Index (1971-1997)  Z3503.A19

Africa Bibliography  1984+ Z3503.A34

Quarterly Index to Periodical Literature, Eastern and Southern Africa (1991-1999)  Z3503.Q3
Succeeded by the Quarterly Index to Africana Periodical Literature 2000+  Z3503.Q3

Current Bibliography on African Affairs    1962+  Z2501.C8