Libraries Ask Us

Sustainability

Growing healthier communities based on sustainable energy use, agricultural production, building design, economic development and more.

Library Databases

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers agriculture; plant and animal sciences; forestry; entomology; soil and water resources; agricultural economics and engineering; alternative farming; nutrition, 1970-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Several hundred U.S. alternative newsweeklies, covering issues like the environment, labor, public policy, and the peace movement, 1970-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles on architecture, planning, landscape architecture, interior design, and historic preservation, from journals published worldwide. Date coverage varies by title; some 1912-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bioscience research journals in full text. Covers 179 titles from 136 society and nonprofit publishers, including some open access journals. Coverage varies; earliest is 1994-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
BuildingGreen Suite This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Directory of green builders. Articles, case studies and product listings for sustainable building, green design, and land use. 1992-current. Also: peer-to-peer discussions, blogs, RSS feeds and the online version of Environmental Building News newsletter.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Environment Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles on the environment from scientific, legal, and popular journals, 1950s- present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
ESG Manager on Campus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SG Manager provides (E) environmental, (S) social, and (G) governance reports for 6,000 global companies, including 3,000 US public companies. Search by ticker, industry, country, IVA rating (AAA to CCC) and controversial business screening. Click a company name to view output options.
Three report-types are available for each company:
1. Intangible Value Assessment Report - measures a company's environmental, social and governance performance.
2. Impact Monitor Report - assessment of major controversies related to a company's operation and/or products, e.g., worker accidents.
3. ESG Industry Report - ESG industry-level trends. Compares IVA ratings for major companies within an industry.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, government, and general-interest articles on climate change, renewable energy, green building, sustainable agriculture, green building, pollution, recycling, education, law, health, and technology. Covers 1973-current.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search by topic and/or geography: agriculture, food, energy, pollution, economic development, social factors and in journals, magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias as well as primary sources.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Left Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles in leftist periodicals, on labor, ecology & environment, race, social & cultural theory, 1982-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PolicyFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text policy papers from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
SciTech Connect This link opens in a new window
Replaces DOE Information Bridge and Energy Citations. Citations, and some full text, of US DOE research and development reports.1943-present.
Content is freely available for use by all.

Simply Analytics
Over 70,000 variables related to demographics, marketing, product usage, points-of-interest, consumer behavior and lifestyle segmentation for the United States at all levels of geography (States, Congressional Districts, Counties, Cities/Places, ZIP Codes, Census Tracts and Block Groups). Establish an account using your UMass email address. Select HELP in the top banner to view video tutorial.

Selected Publications in Sustainability

Greener Management International
Articles and reviews about corporate environmental strategy and practice.
International Journal of Sustainable Energy
Covers biomass, wave generators and wave power. Examines experimental, theoretical, and applied results concerning science and engineering of solar energy.
Journal of Education for Sustainable Development
Forum for academics and practitioners to share and critique innovations in thinking and practice in the emerging field of Education for Sustainable Development (ESD). A peer-reviewed international journal, JESD aims at global readership and is published twice a year. Formatted in sections of news, opinion, project descriptions, research, academic opportunities, and reviews.
Journal of Renewable and Sustainable Energy
interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal covering all areas of renewable and sustainable energy-related fields that apply to the physical science and engineering communities. Content is published online daily, collected into bimonthly issues (6 times a year).
Journal of Sustainable Development
Peer-reviewed journal which publishes research papers in the fields of environmental science, environmental technologies, environmental economics and policy, ecology and sustainable development.
Landscape Ecology
Focuses on highly inter- and transdisciplinary studies, aggregating expertise from biological, geophysical, and social sciences to explore the formation, dynamics and consequences of spatial heterogeneity in natural and human-dominated landscapes.
Renewable Agriculture and Food Systems
Multi-disciplinary journal which focuses on the science that underpins economically, environmentally, and socially sustainable approaches to agriculture and food production. Publishes original research and review articles on the economic, ecological, and environmental impacts of agriculture; the effective use of renewable resources and biodiversity in agro-ecosystems; and the technological and sociological implications of sustainable food systems. Discussion forum included.
Sustainability
International and cross-disciplinary scholarly open access journal of environmental, cultural, economic and social sustainability of human beings, which provides an advanced forum for studies related to sustainability and sustainable development.
Sustainability Science
Probes interactions between global, social, and human systems, the complex mechanisms that lead to degradation of these systems, and concomitant risks to human well-being. Provides a platform for building sustainability science as a new academic discipline which can point the way to a sustainable global society by facing challenges that existing disciplines have not addressed.
Sustainable Development
Leading international peer-reviewed journal emphasizing the need for interdisciplinary research into economic, social and environmental aspects of sustainable development.
Sustainable Facility
Publication of the Association of Energy Engineers.

Last Updated: Apr 3, 2024 10:58 AM
URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/sustainability
Print Page

Subjects: Sustainability Studies

Tags: community, economics, energy, government, permaculture, practical-skills, sustainability