Libraries Ask Us

Polymer Science & Engineering

Books and Theses

Find books available through the UMass Amherst Libraries with Discovery search.

Refine results by format to books and eBooks.

Find & borrow books owned by other libraries in WorldCat https://www.worldcat.org/advancedsearch

Find UMass theses and dissertations at Scholarworks, the UMass Amhserst digital repository.

Find theses and dissertations published worldwide using these databases:

Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US and Canadian dissertations and theses from 1861 to present. Mostly full-text 1997 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) This link opens in a new window
Indexes of over 3.5 million graduate-level electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) that are freely available online.
Content is freely available for use by all.
EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations.org includes records from the British Library’s EThOS Service, the University of Florida, the University of Michigan, Michigan State University, University of North Texas, and the University of Kentucky.
Content is freely available for use by all.
Theses Canada This link opens in a new window
Full-text Canadian theses and dissertations in the Library and Archives Canada collection
Content is freely available for use by all.
China/Asia On Demand (CAOD) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nearly all journals in China, with coverage across all regions of Asia, including articles, theses, dissertations, patents and conference proceedings.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Handbooks & Encyclopedias

Handbooks are a good source of data.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online version of the 100th edition of this indispensable reference for chemical and physical data.
Covers topics including: Basic Constants; Nomenclature; Thermochemistry, Electrochemistry, and Solution Chemistry; Organic Chemistry; Inorganic Chemistry; Analytical Chemistry; Molecular Structure and Spectroscopy; Properties of Solids; Geophysics, Astronomy, and Acoustics; Health and Safety Information; Mathematical Tables; and more.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Encyclopedias provide a great source of background information on a topic. They can also help you find topics of interest.

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all major scientific disciplines and offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Kirk Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley comprehensive reference guide with articles on topics in chemistry and chemical engineering; searchable by article keyword (topic) or article title.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley comprehensive reference guide with articles on topics in the science and technology of industrial chemistry; searchable by article keyword (topic) or article title. Current.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Second edition of this comprehensive Elsevier reference work.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley reference guide searchable by article keyword (topic) or article title.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics Engineering This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley reference encyclopedia - searchable by article keyword (topic) or title.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley reference guide searchable by article keyword (topic) or title.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Engineering by Herman F. Mark (Editorial Board Member); Norbert Bikales (Editorial Board Member); Charles G. Overberger (Editorial Board Member); Georg Menges (Editorial Board Member); Jacqueline I. Kroschwitz (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: TP1087.E46 1985
ISBN: 0471895407
Publication Date: 1985-01-18

CRS Reports / Congressional Research Service

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is the non-partisan public policy research arm of the United States Congress.

CRS experts prepare reports to assist members of Congress throughout the legislative process providing background information and data on public policy issues.

ProQuest Legislative and Executive Publications This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Hearings, bills, laws and legislative histories, committee prints, Congressional Research Service reports, Congressional Record and predecessors, Executive Branch docs to 1939, and the Serial Set.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.