Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Genetic and Genomic Data Portals
- JGI Portal - Joint Genome Institute PortalJGI provides genome sequencing, genome data acquisition, and genome analyses in support of the Department of Energy's mission needs in bioenergy, carbon cycling and biosequestration, and biogeochemical processes. The portal allows researchers access to these data and project management tools.
- SGD - Saccharomyces Genome DatabaseProvides comprehensive integrated biological information for the budding yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae along with search and analysis tools to explore these data, enabling the discovery of functional relationships between sequence and gene products in fungi and higher organisms.
- TAIR : The Arabidopsis Information Resource This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana. Data includes the complete genome sequence along with gene structure, gene product information, gene expression, DNA and seed stocks, genome maps, genetic and physical markers, publications, and information about the Arabidopsis research community.
- FlyBaseFlyBase can be searched for genes, alleles, aberrations and other genetic objects, phenotypes, sequences, stocks, images and movies, controlled terms, and Drosophila researchers.
- WormBaseAn international consortium of biologists and computer scientists providing the research community with accurate, current, accessible information concerning the genetics, genomics and biology of C. elegans and related nematodes.
- MGI - Mouse Genome InformaticsThe international database resource for the laboratory mouse, providing integrated genetic, genomic, and biological data to facilitate the study of human health and disease.
- OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in ManThe full-text, referenced overviews in OMIM contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 15,000 genes. OMIM focuses on the relationship between phenotype and genotype. It is updated daily, and the entries contain copious links to other genetics resources.
- Entrez NucleotideGenome, gene and transcript sequence data from several sources, including GenBank, RefSeq, TPA and PDB.
Tutorials
- Entrez Databases - NCBIOverview of the NCBI Entrez databases, with general information on searching and displaying data.
- NCBI YouTube channelGet the most out of the NCBI resources.
Protocols and Research Methods
- Cold Spring Harbor Protocols This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research methods for microbiology, genetics, bioinformatics, proteins, plant biology, neuroscience, lab organisms, and imaging. - Official Methods of Analysis of the AOAC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Standards for analytical chemists.
Chemical and Physical Property Data
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online version of the 100th edition of this indispensable reference for chemical and physical data.
Covers topics including: Basic Constants; Nomenclature; Thermochemistry, Electrochemistry, and Solution Chemistry; Organic Chemistry; Inorganic Chemistry; Analytical Chemistry; Molecular Structure and Spectroscopy; Properties of Solids; Geophysics, Astronomy, and Acoustics; Health and Safety Information; Mathematical Tables; and more. - Reaxys This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Organic, organo-metallic, and inorganic chemistry data. Find structures, properties, synthesis possibilities, reactions and bioactivity data. Searchable by structure, substructure, reaction, text, and property data. Reaxys also searches NIH PubChem and eMolecules. - Cambridge Structural Database WebCSD This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains crystal structure information, chemical, and bibliographic data for about 500,000 organic, metal-organic, and organometallic molecules.
