Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
BMB Librarian
BMB Department
First-Stop Research Databases
Accessing databases from off-campus requires that you log-in with your NetID.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1946-present. PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus content from additional journals and books in the life sciences. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present. - CAS SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
FIRST-TIME USERS: Click Additional Information below to create an account to use SciFinder
Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases of chemistry and related scientific fields. Mid 1800's - present. Includes step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and more. - Reaxys This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Organic, organo-metallic, and inorganic chemistry data. Find structures, properties, synthesis possibilities, reactions and bioactivity data. Searchable by structure, substructure, reaction, text, and property data. Reaxys also searches NIH PubChem and eMolecules. - Cold Spring Harbor Protocols This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research methods for microbiology, genetics, bioinformatics, proteins, plant biology, neuroscience, lab organisms, and imaging. - Kirk Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley comprehensive reference guide with articles on topics in chemistry and chemical engineering; searchable by article keyword (topic) or article title.
- UniprotThe Universal Protein Resource (UniProt) is a comprehensive resource for protein sequence and annotation data. The UniProt databases are the UniProt Knowledgebase (UniProtKB), the UniProt Reference Clusters (UniRef), and the UniProt Archive (UniParc).UniProt is a collaboration between the European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI), the SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics and the Protein Information Resource (PIR). Across the three institutes more than 100 people are involved through different tasks such as database curation, software development and support.
Biochemistry Call Numbers
The Library Catalog provides a call number and location for each physical item. The call number consists of an alphanumeric string based on the Library of Congress classification system. View an example of how to read a call number.
Materials on Biochemistry reside primarily in the QD call number area. Specific topics follow.
QD 415-436 Biochemistry
QH 506 Molecular Biology
Where to Start
To gather background information about a topic try a dictionary, encyclopedia or general database to get articles about a subject.
Dictionaries:
- The IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology Also known as the "Gold Book" this is a collection of nearly 7,000 terms. with authoritative definitions, spanning the whole range of chemistry.
- Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Definitions for selected terms from Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology. Over 21,000 main entries. Limited to five UMass users at one time.
Encyclopedias:
- Kirk Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Comprehensive articles on topics in chemistry and chemical engineering, with bibliographies. Current.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online The classic general encyclopedia, a good starting point for all kinds of research. Includes a thesaurus and links to BBC and NYT for current news.
- Handbook of Neurochemistry and Molecular Neurobiology
General Databases:
- Academic Search Premier A good starting point: articles from key journals in many scholarly disciplines, with some trade journals and magazines, 1975-present.
- Expanded Academic ASAP Articles from scholarly and general-interest periodicals relating to the humanities, social sciences, and non-technical general sciences, 1980-present.
Handbooks:
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Online version of the 88th edition of this indispensable reference for chemical and physical data. Current
- Springer Handbook of Enzymes Descriptions of some 5,000 enzymes and their application areas. Data sheets are arranged in their EC-Number sequence and the volumes are arranged according to enzyme classes.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all major scientific disciplines and offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers.
