Earth, Geographic, and Climate Sciences

This unrivaled, five-volume reference work covers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, and the history of geology. The techniques of remote sensing and other tools of investigation that have advanced rapidly over the last few decades are described in detail. Encyclopedia of Geology is divided into 340 articles, each covering one aspect of geology. The concepts and theory are explained at a level that allows undergraduates and educated lay people to understand them. The reference has been planned and structured to provide the user with a comprehensive coverage of the core knowledge in each area. It will become the reference of choice for today's geologists and beyond.

This encyclopedia, which constitutes a wide ranging and authoritative collection of academic articles, covers the sedimentological aspects of sediments and sedimentary rocks. As such it provides a comprehensive, one-volume reference work for students and faculty in universities, and for professionals in geology and allied disciplines (geography, engineering, environmental studies), as well as informed lay readers.

The quaternary sciences constitute a dynamic, multidisciplinary field of research that has been growing in scientific and societal importance in recent years. This branch of the Earth sciences links ancient prehistory to modern environments. Quaternary terrestrial sediments contain the fossil remains of existing species of flora and fauna, and their immediate predecessors. Quaternary science plays an integral part in such important issues for modern society as groundwater resources and contamination, sea level change, geologic hazards (earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, tsunamis), and soil erosion.

Containing hundreds of colour illustrations and a map section, the six volumes of this encyclopedia cover a very diverse array of topics and give a useful summary of the state of the discipline in the early 21st century.

Within its covers the Encyclopedia of Coastal Science includes many aspects of the coastal sciences that are only to be found scattered among scientific literature. Being broadly interdisciplinary in its treatment of coasts, the Encyclopedia of Coastal Science features contributions by 245 well known international specialists in their respective fields and is abundantly illustrated with line-drawings and photographs. Not only does this volume offer an extensive number of entries, it also includes various appendices, an illustrated glossary of coastal geomorphology and extensive bibliographic listings.