Libraries Ask Us

Earth, Geographic, and Climate Sciences

Guide to best UMass Library resources for research in Earth, Geographic, and Climate Sciences.

Find Articles

Use these databases to search for research articles:

Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of databases that index journal articles, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, news, some in full text, published in the fields related to aquatic science, oceanography, water resources. See note for more detail. Varying coverage dates.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to engineering journal articles, conference papers, and web sites, 1884-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Environment Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles on the environment from scientific, legal, and popular journals, 1950s- present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the geology of North America from 1669 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Find Research Articles on Remote Sensing

SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Optics and photonics applied research information from eBooks, journals, and conference proceedings, 1989-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All IEEE journals (including Spectrum), standards, transactions, and major conference proceedings since 1988, plus some content since 1952, to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password. As of May 2022, IEEE no longer supports Internet Explorer, please use another browser for the best experience.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals of the Association for Computing Machinery, its conference proceedings, magazines, technical reports, and more, 1954-present. Includes some works published by affiliated organizations. Covers the fields of computing and information technology.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Find News

Use these databases to find news and research articles:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
E&E News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
E&E News reports on energy and environment issues. This includes their five daily publications: Energywire, Climatewire, E&E Daily, Greenwire, and E&E News PM.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Western Massachusetts Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ten newspapers from Western Massachusetts, including the Daily Hampshire Gazette, Amherst Bulletin, Springfield Republican, and the Valley Advocate.
Two other databases contain the Springfield Republican:
Springfield Republican Current and Historical Archive
Contains all variations of the Springfield Republican from 1911-current, plus Springfield Republican blogs and web edition articles.
Springfield Republican (Digital Microfilm)
View images of pages for the Springfield Republican, starting with January 1, 2019. There is a 90 day embargo before images will show.

Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Find Theses and Dissertations

Dissertations and theses provide in-depth academic research. Use these databases to find dissertations and theses:

Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) This link opens in a new window
Indexes of over 3.5 million graduate-level electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) that are freely available online.
Content is freely available for use by all.
EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations.org includes records from the British Library’s EThOS Service, the University of Florida, the University of Michigan, Michigan State University, University of North Texas, and the University of Kentucky.
Content is freely available for use by all.
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US and Canadian dissertations and theses from 1861 to present. Mostly full-text 1997 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Academic Journals

Explore the following academic journals to find peer-reviewed articles in the discipline.

Earth, Geographic, and Climate Sciences

Librarian

Find Articles

Use these databases to search for research articles:

Find Research Articles on Remote Sensing

Find News

Use these databases to find news and research articles:

Find Theses and Dissertations

Dissertations and theses provide in-depth academic research. Use these databases to find dissertations and theses:

Academic Journals

General Science

Geology

Geography

Earth Systems