BIOLOGY 548 Mammalogy - Rosa Moscarella
Library resources useful to students taking this class.
Your Biology Librarian
Journals for Original Research Articles in Mammalogy
You will need to use original research articles as sources for your review paper assignment. If you also want to browse some of the top journals mammalogists publish in, here are some suggestions:
- Biological Journal of the Linnean SocietySearch Academic Search Premier for articles. No access to most recent 12 months.
- BMC Ecology and EvolutionContinues BMC Evolutionary Biology
Databases for Original Research Articles in Mammalogy
For your assignment, you will need to find peer reviewed original research articles. Many of the journals listed above are included in these databases. Searching a database like these casts a wide net for articles:
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present. - Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to periodical articles and other scholarly literature on zoology, biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, and genetics, 1864-present. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals and books in the sciences and the social sciences provided by Elsevier. Dates of coverage vary.
Background Research
You might not be very familiar with your topic to start. Coming up with good keywords to use in a database can be challenging. Use reference sources like encyclopedia to investigate your topic. You can gather more keywords and form a more complete picture of your topic before diving into the journal literature.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all major scientific disciplines and offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers. - Encyclopedia of Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles in the life sciences.
National Geographic
- National GeographicDatabase access. Most recent 3 months not available.
