POLI SCI 111 : Introduction to Comparative Politics
Fall 2020; Jiun Bang
Databases
UMass Amherst subscribes to hundreds of information databases; here are some that are likely to be of the most use to you.
- UMass subscribed databasesA list of all databases that UMass subscribe to. Results can be narrowed by subject matter or format (e.g. data, newspapers).
Background
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news, including coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy, 1923-present.
Scholarly articles
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from all academic disciplines - an excellent starting point for multidisciplinary research projects. 3,200 full-text journals. Coverage from 1975 to present. - ProQuest Political Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text political science periodical articles. Dates vary by title. - PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, government documents, reports in the fields of political science, public and social policy, international relations 1915-. - PolicyFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text policy papers from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
Data and surveys
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Map-creation tool for visualizing many categories of data: income, housing, quality of life, federal guidelines, and more.
To learn how to use PolicyMap, see their YouTube channel for videos: https://www.youtube.com/@PolicyMap.
- iPOLL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 650,000 public opinion survey questions and answers - from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research. Survey from 1935 to present. - Roper Dataset This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search over 20,000 datasets from public opinion surveys dating back to the 1930s. Approximately 60% of these were conducted in the United States; 8,000 datasets are from over 100 countries.
- World Values SurveyThe World Values Survey is a global network of social scientists studying changing values and their impact on social and political life.
- Global Barometer SurveysThe first comprehensive effort to measure, at a mass level, the current social, political, and economic atmosphere around the world.
- World Bank Open DataAccess to global development data.
Newspapers
- Access World News - Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes current and archived news content (with backfiles beginning in the 1980s) from more than 7,050 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories across the globe.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News, business and legal sources
