COVID-19 Resources
Selected information and resources about the COVID-19 pandemic
Maps and Data
- CDC COVID-19 Data Tracker: Cases, Deaths, and TestingCenters for Disease Control statistics on the outbreak in the United States in graphs and maps. Updated daily, Monday - Friday.
- Johns Hopkins Daily COVID-19 Data in MotionVideos highlighting critical COVID-19 data from the past 24 hours, updated daily by Johns Hopkins University.
- Johns Hopkins Center for Systems Science & Engineering - tracking the COVID-19 spread in real-time.Updated map of outbreack maintained by the Center for Systems Science and Engineering (CSSE) at Johns Hopkins University (JHU)
- LexisNexis Risk Solutions Health Care COVID-19 Data Insights MapData visualizations and datasets depicting at-risk populations and critical care gaps based on proprietary and open data sources. Data assets are available publicly for non-commercial use.
- WHO Coronavirus (COVID-19) DashboardUpdated map of cases and deaths from the COVID-19 pandemic maintained by the World Health Organization.
- COVID-19 #Coronavirus Infographic DatapackVisualizations of statistical data about COVID-19 from Information Is Beautiful.
- COVID-19 Open Research Dataset (CORD-19)Free dataset of over 1 million articles, including full content to over 370,000 papers, on COVID-19 and the coronavirus family of viruses to expedite research using natural language processing. Note: the CORD-19 dataset final update will be on June 21, 2022; historic versions will continue to be available here as well as through other open access repositories.
- NYT Coronavirus (COVID-19) Data in the United States - GitHubNew York Times cumulative data set for coronavirus in all U.S. counties. Made freely available for use with attribution via GitHub.
Need more help?
Resources for Patients and Practitioners
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention webportal for Coronavirus (COVID-19)Includes guidance for individuals and health care professionals.
- World Health Organization webportal for the Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) OutbreakWHO information for individuals and guidance for practitioners and countries on managing the outbreak.
- UpToDate COVID-19: Epidemiology, virology, and preventionClinical overview of novel coronavirus, including epidemiology, presentation, diagnosis, management, and prevention. Available to the UMass Amherst community via UpToDate.
- DR-2 COVID-19 CollectionNational Institutes for Environmental Health Sciences Disaster Response Research (DR2) Portal. Contains surveys, protocols, tools, and other resources relevant to COVID-19.
- ASPR Public Health Emergency websiteCOVID-19 website from the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response.
- ASPR Technical Resources, Assistance Center, and Information Exchange (TRACIE) websiteResources for healthcare professionals working in disaster medicine and public health preparedness.
Resources for Researchers and Educators
For our most complete list of publisher and vendor supplied free articles and resources on COVID-19, please see the Expanded Content Access from Vendors tab. That page also contains links to expanded access to materials in all subject areas from certain publishers and vendors.
- iSearch COVID-19 PortfolioThe National Institutes of Health's Office of Portfolio Analysis has developed an interface to search openly accessible literature on coronavirus from PubMed and select pre-print servers.
- LitCovidCurated by computer scientists and bioinformationists at the National Center for Biotechnology Information, a division of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. LitCovid is a literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. Articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access.
- PubMedSearchable database of medical and health sciences literature on COVID-19, provided by the National Library of Medicine.
- RetractionWatch: Retracted coronavirus (COVID-19) papersA running list of retracted articles on COVID-19, published and maintained by RetractionWatch. A searchable database of retracted work regardless of subject is also available through this link.
- World Health Organization database of publications on COVID-19Searchable database of published research on COVID-19, updated daily Monday - Friday.
- Coronavirus (COVID-19) - NEJMAccess to the New England Journal of Medicine content related to COVID-19 is freely available.
- COVID-19 SARS-CoV-2 preprints from medRxiv and bioRxivPreprints on COVID-19 from openly available preprint servers. While not yet peer reviewed, these are the most up-to-date analyses of the raw data.
- NIH COVID-19 ResearchCOVID-19 is an emerging, rapidly evolving situation. Get the latest research information here, including information for NIH grant applicants and recipients.
- GlobusA non-profit service for secure, reliable research data management. Access to all Globus features is currently available at no cost to any institution engaged in COVID-19 research.
Notable Articles
- mRNA-based COVID-19 vaccine boosters induce neutralizing immunity against SARS-CoV-2 Omicron variantArticle exploring mRNA vaccine neutralization of the Omicron COVID-19 variant. Published in Cell.
Authors: Wilfredo F. Garcia-Beltran, Kerri J. St. Denis, Angelique Hoelzemer, et al.
Published: December 23, 2021
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cell.2021.12.033 - SARS-CoV-2 Transmission from People Without COVID-19 SymptomsArticle utilizing analytical models to assess transmission of COVID-19 from asymptomatic peoples. Published via JAMA Network Open.
Authors: Michael A. Johansson, Talia M. Quandelacy, Sarah Kada, et al.
Published: January 7, 2021
Corrected: February 12, 2021
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2020.35057 - Characteristics of SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19Article describing the virology of SARS-CoV-2 and summarizing current knowledge of features of COVID-19. Published in Nature Reviews Microbiology.
Authors: Ben Hu, Hua Guo, Peng Zhou, & Zheng-Li Shi
Published: October 06, 2020
Corrected: February 23, 2022
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1038/s41579-020-00459-7 - SARS-CoV-2-specific T cell immunity in cases of COVID-19 and SARS, and uninfected controlsPublished in Nature.
Authors: Nina Le Bert, Anthony T. Tan, Kamini Kunasegaran, et al.
Published: July 15, 2020
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1038/s41586-020-2550-z - An interactive web-based dashboard to track COVID-19 in real timeArticle on the creation of the Johns Hopkins tracking map. Published in The Lancet.
Authors: Ensheng Dong, Hongru Du, & Lauren Gardner
Published: February 19, 2020
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1016/S1473-3099(20)30120-1
- Last Updated: Mar 20, 2024 9:22 PM
- URL: https://guides.library.umass.edu/COVID-19
- Print Page
