PUBHLTH 494CI Public Health Sciences Capstone

Resources for the Capstone project

Individual Journal Sources

To complete your project, you also need to find evidence-based articles to help make the case for your Recommendations and Implementations. Here are some specific journals that may be good places to start:

New England Journal of Medicine
JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association
Lancet
American Journal of Public Health
Journal of American College Health
Provides information related to health in institutions of higher education.
*Available 1997-present
Journal of the National Medical Association
"The National Medical Association (NMA) is the nation’s oldest and largest organization representing African American physicians and health professionals in the United States. Established in 1895, the NMA is the collective voice of more than 30,000 African American physicians and the patients they serve."

Database Sources

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1946-present. PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus content from additional journals and books in the life sciences.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines.Search by cited reference, topic, author, and more. Arts and Humanities covers 1975-present; Social Sciences 1900-present; and Science 1900-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed journal literature in psychology, behavioral science and mental health - 2,500 journal titles indexed - 2.8 million records - 1887 to present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature Complete includes indexing back to 1937 of over 5,000 journals as well as full-text of over 1,300 journals, 27 books, 134 evidence-based care sheets, 360 research instruments records, 169 quick lessons and more.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles in 1,800 food science journals, plus other scholarly material, on all aspects of food science, nutrition, and processing, 1969-present.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education journal articles (EJ references) and ERIC documents (ED references), 1967-present. EDs before 1997 are requestable using the Microforms Request page and usable in the Microforms Vewing Room in the LC.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Independent evidence-based information to inform healthcare decision making for medical caregivers and patients.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PolicyFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text policy papers from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, government documents, reports in the fields of political science, public and social policy, international relations 1915-.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Health Policy" is one of JSTOR's disciplines, with 24 sources indexed, including the Journal of Public Health Policy, Public Health Reports, and Milbank Quarterly. Also has a "Health Sciences" discipline.
CLICK ON ADVANCED SEARCH and use the JOURNAL FILTER to limit your search to only these catagories.
Available on campus to all, or off-campus to UMass Amherst students, staff and faculty with an UMass Amherst IT NetID (user name) and password.

Additional Resources

Massachusetts Bureau of Community Health & Prevention

Accessing Age Group Filters in PubMed

Conduct a search in PubMed.
On the Results page, look on the left where the default filters are displayed.
At the bottom of the list, click the button “Additional filters.”
Click on “Age” and then click in the boxes for all the age categories you want to have available.
Click the “Show” button.
You should now have a filter section called “Age.”
Click on the one (or ones) you want to limit your search to studies identified as having that age group as subjects.

You can go through a similar process for other filters available.